nederlands
français
english
deutsch

Lodewijk Mortelmans 1868-1952

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lodewijk Mortelmans
1921 AMERICAN JOURNEY

During a successful tour in the United States of America (1920), Lodewijk Mortelmans was invited by Pablo Casals to become the conductor of a well-known Symphonic Orchestra. Some works were edited after agreements with Schirmer in New York and with Composers Musical Corporation.

Lodewijk Mortelmans rejected this honorable offer, because during the war, in 1917, he had lost his wife Gabrielle Mortelmans and two of his sons, and therefor felt responsible for the education of his five other children.
(Gabriella Mortelmans †03.05.1917 - Frits †22.07.1917 and Guido †10.01.1917)

 
Privat correspondance : - Transl.
   Tuesday 30.12.1969, letter of Gabrielle Radoux to Lodewijk De Vocht :
"..in America I met 'The famous Baryton Louis Graveure'.. and asked him if he wasn't interested in some flemish Lieder of one of my friends of Antwerp, whom was a Prix de Rome winner! Coincidental I had some Lieder with me. Louis Graveure was all in all delighted and sang five Mortelmanslieder in the Albert-Hall in New-York, which he translated himself, and who where a huge success and were bissed.
Cunard-LineLouis Graveure let me know, he would exert on the very well know editor 'Composers Musical Corporation' to have them published. Not only the five Lieder were published and sold very well, yet the Composers would have liked to publish all the works Mortelmans had, except his orchestral works. I returned to Belgium after my concerttour - because I had an engagement for him, for some singing recitals with Louis Graveure, which he had to assist in person! everything was in order - Mortelmans asked a three month's leave at the Conservatory and came to Boston on the Steamer 'The Nerviër' and all went at his best.
In Philadelphia, he met 'Pablo Casals, certainly not unknown to you - he was so delighted, and while the post of conductor for the Boston-Symphonic was vacant, insisted he would apply, and supported by Casals, he certainly would be appointed - yes, very tempting, but, his houshold, five minor children - no mother - was for his conscious... impossible".
 

TRAVEL DATA - OUTWARD BOUND

In the night of 29 March 1921, he leaves in a rush on board of the Nerviër from Antwerp, destination Baltimore.
(Shipping Company : Lloyd Royal Belge)

Privat correspondance :
letter 30.03.1921 NervierLetter 30.03.1921 NervierOn board of "The Nervier" - 30 March 1921
   ...
   So I suddenly had to leave with the Nervier.
   At half past six this morning we pushed off and are now at Terneuzen.
   (on the river Schelde)
   Due to the help of our pilots I can send you these few words. Captain and officers are
   excellent and wouldn't it be so cold here at sea, I would enjoy myself.
 
 

TRAVEL DATA - JOURNEY IN AMERICA

From april till may, many different 'scéances' are given for small cercles.
Daisy Jean, gifted with one of the most beautiful natural voices, sang his work.
Lodewijk Mortelmans was to be called 'un grand, un très grand artiste' by the press.
Initially 4 songs and 3 small works for piano were published at Schirmer. Later, Composers Music Corporation would publish more works, such as a bundle of 11 piano works, 9 songs foreseen with dutch and english lyrics, and 27 of his 'Old-Flemish Folksongs' arranged for piano.
   (Dr. J.L. Broeckx)
 

Uit privé correspondentie :
Letter 11.05.1921 New YorkNew York, 11 mai 1921
... Here, life goes on. I had thought, once all concerts done, I would leave at first convenience, but it won't be possible because apart of the concerts diffent points of concern remain. Amongst them about the publishing of some of my works. Here at least, some publishers are more interested in me than I have experienced so far in Belgium. Anyway, three Lieder are published here, which is a start, and I thinks more is to come. It is the largest american music publisher who took these Lieder. I met also the excellent american Liedersinger : Louis Graveure. He has strong feelings for my Lieder. He frequently sings some Lieder of mine for which he made the best translation. I played him my arrangement for Volksliederen, which he absolutely admired. He hopes to receive a copy as soon as possible, and promised me, without I had to ask him, he would propagate them. Even more : he instantly wrote - in my presence - to five different editors to inform them about me. As Graveure is known as the main authority, probably some will come forward. By the way, one of the editors (from Boston) wrote me already to meet us once he arrives in New York. I'm not harbouring illusions, but realise already my visit to America has done well. Regarding one another, I might return home later than expected. I have to turn this journey into every possible profit. Now it's business time, once home I can dream again.
Perhaps I should have to travel to California by the end of the month. The belgian consul of Los Angeles wrote us for a concert. We wait now for his terms. If they are profitable, than we'll have to take the train for five times 24 hours. But I fear the large amount of travel and accomodation expenses will jeopardize this oportunity. We're waiting.
...
 
New-York 18 mai 1921
...Los Angeles will be nothing, maybe next time.
 

TRAVEL DATA - RETURN TRIP

A place on board of a vessel of Cunard Line was assured for the returntrip, instead of the vessels of the Lloyd Royal Belge, because the crossing of these vessels was unsafe due to conflicts.
On the 9 june 1921 Misses Gabrielle Radoux, Daisy Jean and himself sailed of for Cherbourg aboard the RMS Saxonia on a ten days journey. Than they would travel home by train. In his correspondance he expected to be home in the Helenalei around the 23st.
 

Locations based on the privat correspondance :
   - 29.03.1921  Departure of Antwerp during the night
   - 30.03.1921  on board of the Nerviër on the river Schelde at Terneuzen
   - 20.04.1921  sailing up the river Chesapeake to Baltimore
   - 21.04.1921  Baltimore
   - 01.05.1921  Worcester (Massasuchettes)
   - 11.05.1921  New York - writes about editors of his works
   - 18.05.1921  New York - writes they'll cross the ocean on 09.06.1921 to Cherbourg
   - 30.05.1921  New York - writes ...I handed several Lieder and piano compositions over to a great editor
                           and received good conditions.. (on Hudson River paper)
   - 05.06.1921  New York - Metropolitan Theatre : assists to Lohengrin & Aida
   - 09.06.1921  New York - 12h - departure on board of Saxonia
   - 17.06.1921  Post Card - on board of the Saxonia

Letter 11.05.1921 New YorkLetter 18.05.1921 New YorkLetter 30.05.1921 New YorkLetter 05.06.1921 New York
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Privat correspondance :
Letter 13.06.1921 SaxoniaLetter 13.06.1921 SaxoniaSaxonia, 13 june 1921
   ...
   We left last thursday june 9th at noon from New York. The crossing will lead us to Plymouth and Cherbourg. There we will disembark and continue to Paris and later Antwerp, I mean Miss Radoux and myself, wile Daisy Jean will remain some days in 'La Ville Lumière' with her sister.
Till sunday (12 june) we had magnificent weather, the ocean was like a vast fishing pool. Today it's more windy and there are white horses on the sea, but it's still good weather. By the way, we are on a good vessel. Steady as a rock, and without the vibrations of propeller or engine you would imagine yourself on the beach. The Saxonia is a vessel of more than 14000 tons with a staff of over 320 men and a... rat.
We are about 500 passengers aboard. The ship runs at 14 miles an hour and sometimes even more. Maybe not the fastest of the modern ones, but we can't complain, and it exceeds 'The Nerviër' insofar this one could be called a crawler. Also the Saxonia is still one of the elegant ships, who's shape still apply as a reference model.
Live on board is quiet and steady. At 7 o'clock in the morning a steward runs around with a tamtam to call all passengers for breakfast. At noon and in the evening it's a trompet who calls us for diner. Upon return I'll show you the menu cards which proove we're not starving. Service is excellent. Wheather the expectation for a good tip has something to do with this, I can't tell. In any way, it's pleasant to be treated with courtesy.
Most of the cabins host four persons. Me too have to share mine with three other gentlement: an englishman and two americans. Silence has become regular won't surprise you. My vocabulary is limited to: good morning, good evening or very fine weather to day. But what is expected! In six, seven weeks one does not learn a language, certainly not, when it is english of a lesser quality. No way to accept when 'yêe' stands for 'yes' and 'this waâi' for 'this way'!
.. Can't forget to mention : the Saxonia is a scrupulously clean ship where you're not visited by small animals which normally accompagny the people.
 
Letter 14.06.1921 SaxoniaTuesday 14 june 1921
   Yesterday turned cloudy, rainy and windy. Today we have strong winds and rough sea. Dispite all, Saxonia runs very steady. Our course is more south as regularly passengerships sail, due to icebergs noticed on the usual course. Two days before departure, an english steamer hit one. So preferably a small detour and some delay than going down the drain.
 
Letter 16.06.1921 SaxoniaThursday 16 june 1921
   Yesterday was one of the most beautiful days we've spent at sea. Air and water all as pearl. In the afternoon we were cheered up by a school, as it is called, of dolphins. They came along the vessel and tumbled as it was a spectacle of joy. This morning was similar. These intermezzos are pleasant. I forgot to say we enjoy music at the table. Three musicians and a pianist, a cellist and a violonist play at their best. It's possible their play improves the digestion for some of us, but to me it leaves me more with an indigestion. Pianist and cellist are still capable of something, but the violonist is simply awful. He never plays right and his tone is like vinaiger. As the melody or the tune often come in favor of his play, you easily can imagine what a delight it is for musical ears. Unfortunately I sit on the first table, just aside of this vinaiger brewer and my eardrum is therefor tortured during dinner time. Probably this must be a brave boy who needs every pound he can earn, so there's no way one can hate or curse him. Okay, I pity him, but his victims even more.
 
Cunard RMS SaxoniaSaxonia, 17 june 1921
In the twenty four hours we had two events taking place
on bord. A child was born, and a woman died suddenly.
Letter 17.06.1921 SaxoniaThis morning at 6 a.m. the funeral took
place. The capitan read some prayers, the
machine held quiet for some moment and..
then we went on. And thus
each of us went towards our destination.
 
 

THE TWO VESSELS

Steamer NervierS.S. Nerviër : ex- war aryan (war class tankers)
1919 reprise of Shipping Controller (Londres)
rebaptised NERVIER by the Lloyd Royal Belge S.A. Antwerp
transformed in a 'dry cargo ship'
 

Saxonia Cunard-Liner 1921RMS Saxonia was one of the passengervessels of the britisch company Cunard Line. Prowered by four steammachines and driven by two propellers, this was a vessel of 180m long, with a weigth over 14000 tons and reaching a speed of about 15 knots.
On 22 mai 1900 he left for his maidentrip from Liverpool to Boston.
The RMS Saxonia sailed the North-Atlantic route till 1911. In that year his capacity was altered by keeping only second and third class. His new route went from Trieste to Boston.
In august 1914 it was used as a prison, and was moored on the river Thames in London during the First World War. After november 1918 he returned to sea and went sailing between Liverpool and New York.
In 1920 his capacity was reduced from 1964 till 1449 passengers (471 in cabin class and 978 in third class). After this second change he returned to the Atlantic Ocean and travelled now between Londen and New York City till 1925. As from then, the RMS Saxonia was sold and broken down in the Netherlands.
 

DAISY JEAN

Daisy Jean - Newspaper Watertown NY Daily Times 1922Extract of the newspaper 'Watertown Daily Times of 08 august 1931' :
Daisy Jean (violoncellist and soprano) born in Le Havre in France, of french and scottisch parents. She grew up in Belgium and was considered as from belgian nationality.
Although herself and her four sisters did not had any musical education, it is exceptional all four became profesional musicians.
At the age of four, Daisy was already singing quartets with her sisters, and rapidly developped interest for the Cello. When nine years old, she performed for her first time before an audience with remarquable succes. She was wellknown by the mayor belgian orchestras. She performed several times in Oostende, aswell in Antwerp for the New Concerts conducted by Saint-Saens, Lodewijk Mortelmans and Hans Richter.
But when second world war started, she fled accompanied by her family into England, where she was to join privat cercles to play at Queens Hall and at Albert Hall conducted by Beechem. Pushed by the belgian ambassador in London, Daisy Jean left together with Gabrielle Radoux (piano) and Jean Wiswell (piano) and travelled for four years through Canada and the United States of America. They played a lot of concerts for the Belgian Relief. In 1919 Daisy Jean returned to Belgium.

 
Daisy JeanPublished: Wednesday, March 01, 1916   
CONCERT FOR BELGIANS TONIGHT - Elaborate Program will be Rendered in New Music Building
Under the auspices of the Division of Music, a concert for the benefit of the Belgian Relief Fund will be given in the John Knowles Paine Concert Hall this evening at 8.15 o'clock.
The program will be presented by Mlle. Octavia Belloy, soprano - M. Jan Collignon, bass, of the Antwerp Opera House - Mlle. Daisy Jean, 'cellist, Brussels Royal Conservatoire - Mlle. Gabrielle Radoux, pianist, Royal Antwerp Conservatoire - Mr. Willis Flanagan, tenor Italian Opera

'The program' amongst others :
Mlle. Radoux Pairie, Paladilhe - Mlle. Jean "Bloemen en Sterren", L. Mortelmans
 
(image of Daisy Jean - she changed her name into Margot Jean to avoid negative interpretation)

©www.thecrimson.com
TOP

lfm logo

nederlands
français
english
deutsch

Lodewijk Mortelmans 1868-1952

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lodewijk Mortelmans
1921 VOYAGE EN AMERIQUE

Durant une tournée triomphale aux Etats-Unis (1921), Pablo Casals lui proposait de postuler pour la fonction de chef d'orchestre du Boston-Symphonic. Plusieurs de ses oeuvres y fûrent publiés, entre autre chez Schirmer à New York et chez Composers Musical Corporation.

Lodewijk Mortelmans refusa cette offre honorable, ayant perdu sa femme Gabrielle Mortelmans et deux de ses fils en 1917. Evidemment il se sentait seul responsable de ses cinq autres enfants et de leur éducation.
(Gabriella Mortelmans †03.05.1917 - Frits †22.07.1917 et Guido †10.01.1917)

 
Correspondance privée :
   Mardi 30.12.1969, lettre de Gabrielle Radoux à Lodewijk De Vocht :
"..en Amérique je rencontre 'The famous Baryton Louis Graveure'.. et lui demande s'il n'est pas intéressé par des Lieder flamands d'un de mes amis d'Anvers, un gagnant du Prix de Rome! Par hasard, j'avais emporté ses Lieder. Louis Graveure fût tout ravi et chantait cinq Lieder de Mortelmans à l'Albert-Hall à New-York, qu'il avait traduit lui-même, et qui fûrent un énorme succès et puis bissés.
Cunard-LineLouis Graveure me faisait savoir, qu'il s'investirait, à ce qu'il soit publiés par la maison d'éditions fort connue 'Composers Musical Corporation'. Non seulement ces cinq Lieder fûrent publié et se sont bien vendu, la Composers voulu publier tout ce que Mortelmans avait en sa possesion, sauf les oeuvres pour orchestre. Après ma tournée de concerts, je rentrais en Belgique - parce que je lui apportais un engagement pour un nombre de récitals de Lieder avec Louis Graveure, et qu'il devait lui-même l'accompagner! Tout était en ordre - Mortelmans demandait trois mois de congé au Conservatoire et venait à Boston avec le bateau à vapeur 'De Nerviër' et tous se passait à merveille.
A Philadelphia il rencontra 'Pablo Casals, certainement non inconnu pour vous - il était tellement enchanté qu'il insista, vu que la position de chef-conducteur à la Boston-Symponic était vacante, qu'il devait postuler, et qu'il aurait certainement la place graçe au support que lui Casals lui apporterait - oui, fort attrayant, mais, son ménage, cinq enfants mineurs - sans mère - ce fût pour sa conscience... impossible".
 

DONNÉES DU VOYAGE À L'ALLER

Dans la nuit du 29 mars 1921 il partait sur le S.S. Nerviër d'Anvers, avec destination Baltimore.
(armateur Lloyd Royal Belge)

Correspondance privée :
letter 30.03.1921 NervierLetter 30.03.1921 NervierA bord du "Nervier" - 30 Mars 1921
   ... J'ai donc soudainement dû partir avec le Nerviër.
   Vers sept heures ce matin nous avons laché les amares et sommes maintenant devant
   Terneuzen.    (sur l'Escaut)
   Grâçe à nos pilotes je vous envoie ces quelques mots. Le capitaine et les officiers sont excellent
   et ne fût-il pas si froid sur l'eau, ce serait une partie de plaisir.
 
 
 
 

DONNÉES DU SÉJOUR EN AMÉRIQUE

Pendants les mois d'avril à mai, plusieurs 'scéances' sont donnés en petite compagnie.
Daisy Jean, pourvu d'une des plus voix naturelles, chanta ses oeuvres. Lodewijk Mortelmans fût nommé 'un
grand, un très grand artiste' par la presse.
Au départ, 4 chansons et 3 petits oeuvres pour piano sont édité chez Schirmer.
Plus tard la Composers Music Corporation éditera encore des oeuvres, un lot de 11 oeuvres pour piano, 9 chansons
pourvu de textes en neérlandais et anglais, et les '27 Oud-Vlaamsche Volksliederen' dans un arrangement pour piano.
   (Dr. J.L. Broeckx)
 

Correspondance privée :
Letter 11.05.1921 New YorkNew York, 11 mai 1921
... Ici la vie va son chemin.. J'avais pensé, une fois les concerts terminés, de pouvoir rentrer à la première occasion, mais cela ne sera possible vu qu'en dehors des concerts d'autres points d'importance sont à régler. Ainsi il en va pour la publication de mes oeuvres. Ici on trouve au moins des éditeurs, dont certains portent plus d'attention que j'en ai connu en Belgique. En tous les cas, trois de mes Lieder sont déjà édité, c'est un début, et je pense que d'autres suivront. C'est la plus grand éditeur américain de musique qui a choisi mes Lieder. J'ai aussi rencontré l'excellent chanteur américain de Lieder : Louis Graveure. Celui-ci fait grand cas des mes Lieder. Il en chante régulièrement pour lesquelles il a produit de bonnes traductions. Je lui jouait mes arrangements des Volksliederen, dont il fût vraiment enchanté. Il espère rapidement les obtenir et me promettait, sans à ce que je lui avait à demander, qu'il les propagerait. Même plus : il écrivait de suite - en ma présence - à cinq différents éditeurs pour leurs faire connaître la situation. Et vu que Graveure ici est reconnu comme la plus grande authorité, cela devrait aboutir à quelque chose. D'ailleurs, déjà un des éditeurs (de Boston) m'a écrit pour avoir un entretien dès son arrivée à New-York. Je me fais pas d'illusions, et sais que mon séjour en Amérique m'aura fait que du bien. Vu l'un et l'autre, il est possible que j'aurai à rentrer plus tard que prévu initiallement. Je dois veiller à ce que mon voyage rapporte tout ce qui est possible. Maintenant il s'agit de business, une fois de retour je pourrais à nouver rêver.
Peut-être qu'à la fin du mois j'aurai à partir en Californie. Le consul belge de Los Angeles nous a écrit pour un concert là-bas. Nous attendons ses conditions. Si ceux-ci s'avèrent favorables, nous aurons à voyager cinq fois 24 heures en train. Mais je crains vu le montant des frais de voyage et de séjour, que cette cause a peu de chance de se réaliser. Nous attendons.
...
 
New-York 18 mai 1921
...Los Angeles ne sera rien, peut-être une prochaine fois.
 

DONNÉES DU VOYAGE DU RETOUR

Pour le voyage du retour, une place à bord d'un bateau de l'agence Cunard Line était assuré, au lieu des bateaux de la Lloyd Royal Belge, parce que la navigation sur ces navires étaient devenu périlleux suite aux conflits.
Le 9 juin 1921 vers midi Mlle. Gabrielle Radoux, Daisy Jean et Lodewijk Mortelmans embarquent à bord du RMS Saxonia pour une traversée de 10 jours vers Cherbourg. Puis ils prendront le train pour Anvers. Dans sa lettre il indique qu'il espère être de retour à la Helenalei pour le 23.
 

Lieux, sur base de la correspondance privée :
   - 29.03.1921  départ d'Anvers en pleine nuit
   - 30.03.1921  à bord du Nerviër sur l'Escaut à Terneuzen
   - 20.04.1921  remontée de la rivière Chesapeake vers Baltimore
   - 21.04.1921  Baltimore
   - 01.05.1921  Worcester (Massasuchettes)
   - 11.05.1921  New York - écrit à propos d'éditeurs
   - 18.05.1921  New York - écrit que la traversée sera pour le 09.06.1921 vers Cherbourg
   - 30.05.1921  New York - écrit : ...Puis vient que j'ai remis divers Lieder et pièces pour piano à un très grand éditeur
                          et reçu des bonnes conditions... (sur papier Hudson river)
   - 05.06.1921  New-York - Metropolitan Theatre : assiste à Lohengrin & Aida
   - 09.06.1921  New-York - 12h - départ à bord du Saxonia
   - 17.06.1921  Carte Postale - à bord du Saxonia

Letter 11.05.1921 New YorkLetter 18.05.1921 New YorkLetter 30.05.1921 New YorkLetter 05.06.1921 New York
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Correspondance privée :
Letter 13.06.1921 SaxoniaLetter 13.06.1921 SaxoniaSaxonia, 13 juin 1921
   ...
   Nous sommes donc parti de New-York le jeudi 9 juin vers midi. Le voyage va vers Plymouth et Cherbourg. Là, nous descendrons pour aller à Paris, puis Anvers, c'est à dire: Mlle. Radoux et moi-même, vu que Daisy Jean restera encore quelques jours dans 'La Ville Lumière' auprès de sa soeur.
Jusqu'à dimanche (12 juin) nous avons eu un temps merveilleux, comme si l'océan était un vaste étang. Aujourd'hui il y a un peu plus de vent et les moutons apparaisent, mais il fait toujours bon. D'ailleurs nous nous trouvons sur un bon bateau solide. Il est stable comme un roc et sans les vibrations de l'hélice ou de la machine on s'imaginerait à la plage. Le Saxonia est un bateau de plus de 14000 tonnes avec un équipage de 320 hommes et un.. rat.
Nous sommes environ 500 passagers à bord. Il navigue à 14 miles par heures et atteinds dès fois même plus. Alors qu'il n'est pas des plus rapides de navires modernes, il avance quand-même bien et surpasse pour autant le 'Nerviër' que celui-ci peut se comparer à un animal rampant. En plus le Saxonia est un des navires élégants, dont la beauté de la forme peut se voir comme modèle.
La vie à bord va son train. Le matin vers 7 heures un des steward passe avec son tamtam pour appeler les passagers pour le déjeuner. A midi et le soir, c'est le son des trompettes qui nous invite à table. Qu'il n'est besoin d'avoir faim démontrent les cartes de menu que je vous montrerais au retour. Le service à bord est excellent. Si les espérances d'un bon pourboire final sont la raison, je ne puis répondre. En tous les cas c'est agréable d'être traitée avec politesse.
Dans la plupart des cabines on séjourne à quatre personnnes. Moi aussi prends paix avec trois autres messieurs: un anglais et deux américains. Une condition souvent silencieuse est non surprenante. Mon vocabulaire se limite souvent à : good morning, good evening ou very fine weather to day. Mais qu'est-ce que tu veux! En six, sept semaines on n'apprends pas à parler une langue, et encore moins, lorsqu'on a à écouter un anglais de qualité inférieure. 'yêe' pour 'yes' et 'this waâi' pour 'this way' ne sont vraiment acceptable, non!
.. Une particularité que je ne peux oublier : le Saxonia est un navire d'une propreté extrème ou l'on ne reçoit la visite des petits animaux domestiques qui s'invitent à accompagner les gens.
 
Letter 14.06.1921 SaxoniaMardi 14 juin 1921
   Hier le temps s'est gâté. Pluie et vent sont arrivé. Aujourd'hui une bonne brise souffle et la mer est plus mouvementé. Néanmoins le Saxonia reste stable. Notre course se trouve plus au sud qu'habituellement suivi par les navires à passagers, suite aux icebergs signalés sur la route normale. Deux jours avant notre départ un navire à vapeur anglais a eu une collision. Mieux vaut faire un détour et rentrer plus tard que descendre en enfer.
 
Letter 16.06.1921 SaxoniaJeudi 16 juin 1921
   Hier était un des meilleurs jours en mer. L'air et l'eau, comme une perle. L'après-midi nous fûrent surpris par un banc de dauphins... Il nagaient par douzaines le long du navire, au dessus et sautant que ce fût une joie à voir. Ce matin nous avons vu un même spectacle. Une telle entre-scène est fort agréable. J'ai oublié de mentionner qu'à table nous sommes accompagné avec de la musique. Trois musiciens et un pianiste, un celliste et un violoniste y jouaient leur talent. Possible que leur jeu améliore la digestion de certaines personnes, en ce qui me concerne cela me donne une indigestion. Le pianiste et celliste passent encore, mais le violoniste est simplement horrible. Jamais il joue juste et son ton est comme du vinaigre. Vu que la mélodie ou l'air sont toujours en sa faveur tu peux comprendre que c'est merveilleux pour des oreilles musicales. Malheureusement je me trouve à la première table, juste à côté du vinaigrier et mon tympan est torturé durant tout le repas. Et dire que c'est un brave garçon qui probablement à besoin de l'argent qu'il se fait ainsi, qu'il est impossible de le détester ou de l'en vouloir. J'ai pitié de lui, mais de ses victimes encore plus.
 
Cunard RMS SaxoniaSaxonia, 17 juin 1921
Dans ses vingt quatre heures deux évènements ont eu lieu à bord.
Un enfant est né, une dame est morte subitement.
Letter 17.06.1921 SaxoniaCe matin vers 6 heures l'entèrrement à eu
lieu. Le capitaine lisait quelques prières, la
machine s'arrêtait un instant et.. puis
on continuait. Et ainsi
nous continuons chacun vers notre destin.
 
 

LES DEUX NAVIRES

Steamer NervierS.S. Nerviër : ex- war Aryan (war class tankers)
1919 - reprise de Shipping Controller (Londres)
rebaptisé en NERVIER par la Lloyd Royal Belge S.A. Antwerp
transformé en 'dry cargo ship'
 

Saxonia Cunard-Liner 1921RMS Saxonia était un navire à passagers de l'armateur anglais Cunard Line.
Alimenté par quatre machines à vapeur et muni de deux hélices, c'était un navire de 180m de long, d'un poids de plus de 14000 tonnes et atteignant une vitesse de 15 noeuds.
Le 22 mai 1900 il partait pour son premier voyage de Liverpool à Boston.
Le RMS Saxonia prenait la route Nord-Atlantique jusqu'en 1911. C'est dans cette même année que sa capacité fût modifié en prévoyant plus qu'une deuxième et troisième classe. Sa nouvelle route le menait de Trieste vers Boston.
En août 1914 il fût utilisé comme prison, et était amaré sur la Thamise à Londres durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Après novembre 1918 il retournait en mer sur la route entre Liverpool et New York.
En 1920, sa capacité fût réduite de 1964 à 1449 passagers (471 en cabin class et 978 en troisième class). Après cette deuxième modification il retournait sur l'Océan Atlantique et faisait route entre Londres et New York City jusqu'en 1925. Puis le RMS Saxonia fût vendu et démoli aux Pays-Bas.
 

DAISY JEAN

Daisy Jean - Newspaper Watertown NY Daily Times 1922Extrait de l'article du Journal 'Watertown Daily Times du 08 août 1931' :
Daisy Jean (celliste et soprane) née à Le Havre en France, de parents français et écossais. Elle grandissait en Belgique et fût considérée comme de nationalité belge.
Alors qu'elle même et ses quatre soeurs n'avaient aucune formation musicale, il est extraordinaire qu'elles devinrent toutes des musiciennes professionelles.
A quatre ans, Daisy chantait des quatuor avec ses soeurs, et dévelopait rapidement un certain interêt pour le Violoncelle. Vers ses neuf ans, elle performait pour sa première fois devant un public avec un succès remarqué. Elle était reconnu auprès des plus grands orchestres belges. Elle concertait plusieures fois à Oostende, ainsi qu'à Anvers auprès des Nouveaux Concerts sous la conduite de Saint-Saens, Lodewijk Mortelmans et Hans Richter.
Lorsque la deuxième guerre mondiale éclatait, elle s'enfuiait avec sa famille en Angleterre, où elle retrouvait les cercles privés, pour jouer au Queens Hall et à l'Albert Hall sous la conduite de Beechem. Daisy Jean partit sous l'impulsion de l'ambassadeur de la Belgique à Londres en compagnie de Gabrielle Radoux (pianiste) et Jean Wiswell (pianiste) et elles voyagaient durant quatre années à travers le Canada et les Etats-Unis d'Amerique. Elles donnaient beaucoup de concerts pour la Belgian Relief. Daisy Jean rentrait en 1919 en Belgique.

 
Daisy JeanPublished: Wednesday, March 01, 1916   
CONCERT FOR BELGIANS TONIGHT - Elaborate Program will be Rendered in New Music Building
Under the auspices of the Division of Music, a concert for the benefit of the Belgian Relief Fund will be given in the John Knowles Paine Concert Hall this evening at 8.15 o'clock.
The program will be presented by Mlle. Octavia Belloy, soprano - M. Jan Collignon, bass, of the Antwerp Opera House - Mlle. Daisy Jean, 'cellist, Brussels Royal Conservatoire - Mlle. Gabrielle Radoux, pianist, Royal Antwerp Conservatoire - Mr. Willis Flanagan, tenor Italian Opera

'The program' reprenait parmi d'autres :
Mlle. Radoux Pairie, Paladilhe - Mlle. Jean "Bloemen en Sterren", L. Mortelmans
 
(image de Daisy Jean - elle changea son nom pour Margot Jean pour éviter toute interprétation négative)

©www.thecrimson.com
TOP

lfm logo