NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Frans Mortelmans 1865-1936

 

Frans MortelmansFrans Mortelmans was born on the 1st of may 1865, as the oldest son of 6 children.
 
Initially father Karel Mortelmans (printer in Antwerp) prefered his son Frans would study music and therefor bought him a piano. Buth it was his second son, Lodewijk, who occupied the piano and exchanged drawingschool for musicschool. That’s how Frans became the famous flower painter and Lodewijk the famous composer.
 
He was a painter who "painted" in the full sense of the word. After 15 years of study at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp with Luc Schaefels amongst others, he starts his professional life.
 
As his brother Lodewijk, Frans becomes a member of the artistic circle De Scalden (1889-1914) (founded in Antwerp and presided by Jules Baetes). He participates actively at the expositions organised to promote all kind of artistic forms. Frans is also member of the circle De Distel. As from 1889, he shows his paintings at different expositions and salons in Belgium.
 
Frans Mortelmans is one of the few artists who sells his work in Belgium and abroad. He makes a trip to the Scandinavian countries with a full load of paintings, and sells them all.
 
In 1903 his work is officialy acknowledged : the Museum of Fine Arts in Antwerp buys one of his aquarels. During many years he works as a teacher at the Academy in Berchem; and terminated his career there as director.
He also gaved private lessons to Countess Romania du Bois d'Aische, married to Knight Mayer van den Bergh (see p. 163 Kasteel Hof ter Linden Edegem by Linda De Keuster), aswell to his nephew, the later pastelist Franck Mortelmans (1898-1986), and to Mrs. Van Ingelghem from Luxembourg.
 
Frans Mortelmans was a very productive painter. His main period is situated around the turn of the nineteenth centuries. He surly was one of the most talented flower painters and still life painters. He had a very own touch (amongst others clair obscur).
Frans Mortelmans is a late-romantic who reaches towards impressionism, whithout losing the true reproduction of his subjet.
 
Marie FontaineIn 1892 he married Marie Fontaine. The couple remained childless.
 
 
His rose paintings, for example, are highly appreciated worldwide.
 
Fortunately numerous of his paintings are known, but on the other side almost nothing of the archives remain, which means only few historical sources remain regarding his works.
To study and to archive as accurately as possible is one of today's task of the Mortelmans Foundation.

 

Frans Mortelmans - paint box Frans Mortelmans - pencils
Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans
Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans

 

lfm logo

NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Frans Mortelmans 1865-1936

 

Frans MortelmansFrans Mortelmans nait le 1ier mai 1865, comme fils ainé de six enfants.
 
Son père Karel Mortelmans (imprimeur à Anvers) préfèrait initiallement que Frans étudierait la musique et ainsi lui acheta un piano. Mais c'est le second fils, Lodewijk, qui occupait le piano et échangait l'école de dessin pour celle de musique. Ainsi Frans devint le fameux peintre de fleurs et Lodewijk le fameux compositeur.
 
Il était un peintre qui "peignait" dans le plus large sense du mot. Après 15 ans d'études à l'Académie Royale des Beaux Arts à Anvers avec Luc Schaefels, parmi d'autres, il commence sa vie professionelle.
 
Tout comme son frère Lodewijk, Frans devint membre du cercle artistique De Scalden (1889-1914) (fondé à Anvers et présidé par Jules Baetes). Frans participait activement aux expositions qui fûrent organisé pour promouvoir tout genre de formes d'art. Il était aussi membre du cercle De Distel. Dès 1889, il exposait ses oeuvres à travers divers expositions en Belgique.
 
Frans Mortelmans était un des seuls artistes qui vendait ses oeuvres autant en Belgique qu'à l'étranger. Ainsi, il entreprenait un voyage à travers les pays Scandinaves, chargé de peintures, et les vendaient toutes.
 
En 1903 son oeuvre était officiellement reconnu: le Musée des Beaux Arts à Anvers lui achetait une de ses aquarelles. Durant plusieurs années il enseignait à l'Académie à Berchem et il y terminait sa carrière comme directeur.
Frans Mortelmans donna entre autres des cours privés à la Comtesse Romania du Bois d'Aische, épouse de Ridder Mayer van den Bergh (voir p. 163 Kasteel Hof ter Linden Edegem par Linda De Keuster), et à son cousin, le pastelist Franck Mortelmans (1898-1986), et à Mme. Van Ingelghem du Luxembourg.
 
Frans Mortelmans était un peintre fort productif. Sa grande période se situait vers le changement du siècle. Il était certainement l'un des peintres de fleurs et de nature morte les plus talentueux. Il avait sa façon bien particulière (en autre clair obscure). Frans Mortelmans était un vieux-romantique qui se rapprochait de l'impressionisme, sans de négliger la vrai reproduction de son sujet.
 
Marie FontaineEn 1892 il se mariait avec Marie Fontaine. Le couple resta sans enfants.
 
 
Ses peintures de roses, par exemple, sont appréciés à travers le monde.
 
Heureusement nombreux sont les peintures connues, mais d'un autre côté quasi rien de ses archives fûrent sauvegardés, ce qui nous laisse peu de sources historiques de ces œuvres.
Étudier et cataloguer avec précision l'œuvre de Frans Mortelmans est maintenant une des tâches de la Fondation Mortelmans.

 

Frans Mortelmans - paint box Frans Mortelmans - pencils
Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans
Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans Frans Mortelmans

 

TOP

lfm logo