NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Lodewijk Mortelmans 1868-1952

-----------------------------------

* APRIL 2018 - New Arts International

website : www.newartsint.com
 
New Arts Intl. logo Luister 10  

-----------------------------------

* 7 MARCH 2018 - Basia con fuoco

www.basiaconfuoco.com
 

 
The sea is no more of a mockery than the emergency ditch. Both take their toll regardless of circumstances, supplications or bribes..
 
A curse rests on the young Ivo: as soon as his wife becomes pregnant, he will be devoured by the sea. That was how his father sank, and so was his twin brother. But that you cannot escape your fate knows that anyone who has ever heard of Oedipus and if it is in the stars that your life ends in the waves then you drown, even if there is no sea nearby. As it were, because the sea, which is audibly present in 'The Children of the Sea'.
 
From the first notes of the overture you can hear the noise, swells and storms... How visually you want your notes to be? It can't be more visual, it's expressionism at its best.
 
'The Children of the Sea' of the Belgian composer Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868-1952) had his premiere in 1920 - unsuccessfully - and the disappointed composer adapted it into a 90-minute suite, half of which has now been recorded by Phaedra. The late-Romantic idiom appeals to me greatly, as does the story in verses by Raf Verhulst. What's more, I'm pretty impressed.
 
The performance is more than sublime. Dirk Vermeulen makes the Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen play as if their lives depend on it, breathtaking! Liesbeth Devos (Stella) is a true discovery for me. Her crystal pure soprano is extremely pleasant to listen to and to admire. Peter Gijsbertsen sings a moving Ivo, in that role he is truly inimitable to me. How beautiful and warm his voice has become! Werner van Mechelen (Petrus) completes the cast out of thousands. ‘Ellen’ on the text by Frederick van Eeden (Gijsbertsen) and 'Als de ziele luistert' (Devos) complete the 'Mortelmans section', but there are still songs and arias by Peter Aerts and August de Boeck. Liesbeth Devos sings the Cantilene of Francesca from La Route d'Emeraude of August de Boeck : This CD is a MUST!

-----------------------------------

* 12 FEBRUARY 2018 - Stretto.be


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
website : stretto.be
 

-----------------------------------

* 24 JANUARY 2018 - Melome


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
www.melome.nl/In Flanders Fields Vol97 - The Children of the Sea

-----------------------------------

* JANUARY 2018 - Opus Klassiek


 
 
Phaedra IFF 97PHAEDRA In Flanders' Fields 97

- Lodewijk Mortelmans : De Kinderen der Zee (selection) - Ellen, een lied van de smart - Als de ziele luistert
- Peter Aerts : In Flanders' Fields
- August De Boeck : C'est en toi, bien aimé - Cantilene of Francesca (La route d'Emeraude) - Recitativo and aria from Prinses Zonnestraal (Winternachtsdroom)
 
Liesbeth Devos, soprano - Peter Gijsbertsen, tenor - Werner van Mechelen, baritone
Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen - Dirk Vermeulen, conductor
 
PHAEDRA PH 92097 - 78'
Recording: JULY 2017, Reutlingen
 
 
 
 
© Aart van der Wal - www.opusklassiek.nl
 

-----------------------------------

* Tuesday 23 JUNE 2015 - Music and the 'Tour de France'

 
Translation :
Paris as last stage has a great musical history, but what's about all the other stages in this Tour de France?
A small 'Tour' along the places where the Tourcaravan will stop next month, and see which composers have their names attached to it.
 
Extract :The third stage starts in Antwerp, where several composers lived, although some of their names might be unknown to certain music lovers : Jan Blockx (1851-1912), Louis Marischal (1928-1999), Marcel Mattheessens (1936) and Carl Verbraeken (1950) for exemple.
This last one made compositions of which some titels are most appropriate to the Tour, such as ‘Frustration’, ‘Inner Joy’, ‘Congratulations’ and – when unavoidable falls occur – ‘I wear your wounds’.
 
More famous is the Antwerp composer Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868-1952), nicknamed as 'the flemish Brahms'. Mortelmans was for the Antwerp music scene, what Willem Mengelberg meant for the one in Amsterdam. He invited composers such as Mahler, Strauss and Rachmaninov to his city to conduct their works and stood himself on the stand next to famous solists such as cellist Pablo Casals and violist Pablo de Sarasate.
He really did put Antwerp on the map. He loved competition, which appears while he became one of the founders of the Ysaÿe Concours, which later became the Queen Elisabeth competition.
The third stage ends at the well-known steep Wall of Huy, a town where composer Lambert Chaumont (1630-1712) spent his last fourty years of his life as a priest. It is in the Ardennes where he wrote his magnificient organ music. Musicologists today still are amazed of the high quality of his works.
 
www.sinfinimusic.com

-----------------------------------

* Monday 24 DECEMBER 2012 - Klassiek Centraal - critics

Lodewijk Mortelmans
Peter Vanhove, piano - Yuriy Mynenko, countertenor

 
In 95% of the time when you hear the name of Lodewijk Mortelmans on the radio, we talk of
‘Het Wielewaalt en het Leeuwerkt’, as if this man hardly composed any other pianowork.
 
 
Pavane Records ADW 7547
 
Nomination Golden Label: Als de ziele luistert - PDF in Dutch

-----------------------------------

* Zondag 20 MAART 2011 - 11:00

Plaats : Koningin Elisabethzaal - Antwerpen

* Zaterdag 19 MAART 2011 - 20:00

Plaats : Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekathedraal - Antwerpen

* Vrijdag 18 MAART 2011 - 20:00

Plaats : Muziekcentrum De Bijloke - Gent
Raadselachtig concert met Martyn Brabbins - deFilharmonie
Martyn Brabbins, dirigent
Paul Watkins, cello
 
 
 
Program :
Lodewijk Mortelmans - Mythe der Lente, Symfonisch Gedicht
William Walton - Celloconcerto
Edward Elgar - Enigmavariaties, Op.36
 
 
www.kwadratuur.be

-----------------------------------

* SEPTEMBER 2010 - Extract of 'Flanders Today'

Flanders Today, a free weekly English-language newspaper, is an initiative of the Flemish Region.
 

 
 
 

Concert:
Saturday 23 OCTOBER 2010 - DeSingel Antwerpen - Vocaal Collectief
Lodewijk Mortelmans : Fantasy Dance - Mythe der Lente
 
 
LINK: Agenda 2010
 
 

* Thursday 14 JANUARY 2010

Lyrik und Ebenmaß : der Symphoniker Lodewijk Mortelmans wiederentdeckt
Poetry and symmetry: the Symphony Works of Lodewijk Mortelmans rediscovered
 
Translation :
Finally, Lodewijk Mortelman's Belgian debut as Belgium's first outstanding symphony orchestra will be given 'discographic honours'.
Two of the works recorded here, 'Homeric Symphony' (1898) and 'Morgenstemming' (1922), have also appeared in recent years in the series 'Repertoire Explorer' in study score, which proves the dissemination and verifiability of the results of immense services. Mortelmans was a pupil of Peter Benoit, the 'father of Flemish music', who with his sacred magnum opus 'Hoogmis' had set high standards of conservative character.
An article by Christoph Schlüren - Edition: 12-2009 - Volume 58
Mortelmans' house gods were Bach, Beethoven and Wagner, and this is clearly audible. Wagner's melodies and harmony, in particular, have left their mark - in a soothed, perfectly crafted manner. In the 'Homeric Symphony', the three-quarters of an hour's masterpiece, Mortelmans proves to be a rapturous poet of classical symmetry and builds the grand architecture with extreme economy from a minimum of thematic material. A moderately heroic, heartfelt, hymnically luminous and generously conceived opening movement is followed by a tragic lento as the centrepiece of the work, which in its objectively archaic mettle becomes a captivating funeral march and in its pure beauty and size develops a seemingly endless carrying capacity of the inner tension.
 
This is followed by a deliberately ephemeral, gently ornamental, art nouveau siren scherzo with a moving trio and a majestic, triumphant, noble finale that, despite all its splendour, never changes into affirmative expression. Included are two symphonic poems, the early 'Mythe der lente' (1895) with a pantheistic-fantastic program borrowed from the Edda, and certainly with romantic drama, and the late 'Morgenstemming' - pure sensual painting in solid yet fluidly gliding form, a play of predominantly natural-intimate colours and moods, embedded in a clear motivic-harmonic structure and - comparable to the Austrian Joseph Marx or the lyrical creations of Respighis - in the basic product a symbiosis of melancholy and lightness like a budding, dreamed echo of lost times. The Royal Flemish Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Martyn Brabbins plays a dignified role in a transparent, splendid sound.
Lodewijk Mortelmans: Homerische Symphonie, Morgenstemming, Mythe der lente; Martyn Brabbins dir. Royal Flemish Philharmonic Orchestra. HYPERION CDA 67766 (Vertr. Codaex)  -  More info: Hyperion Records  -  www.nmz.de/artikel/lyrik-und-ebenmass

-----------------------------------

* NOVEMBER 2009 - From www.opusklassiek.nl

CD-critics : Mortelmans: Homerische symfonie – Morgenstemming – Mythe der lente
Koninklijke Vlaamse Filharmonie - Martyn Brabbins, conductor
HYPERION CDA67766
 
 
 
..This is the first CD of the ‘Royal Flemish Philharmonic’ on the Hyperion label.
Conductor Martyn Brabbins and the Orchestra – deFilharmonie – have previously worked together.
As on this disc, hard work went into it, and the result sounds like wonderful.
 
www.opusklassiek.nl
© Siebe Riedstra, november 2009

-----------------------------------

* 9 MAY 2007 - The Ottawa Citizen - Canada

Dorian Prince, European Commission's ambassador to Canada
 
Dorian Prince and Margaret Lysak will perform a free concert May 11 2007 at 8 p.m. at First Baptist Church, 140 Laurier Ave, sponsored by the Ottawa Chamber Music Society
 
There are some surprises, however :
In the second half, on piano, he will accompany the soprano Margaret Lysak in Belgian composer Lodewijk Mortelmans - Het wielewaalt en leeuwerkt, a song that mimics the sound of two birds playing on the beach at Antwerp. Prince believes that Mortelmans, who taught and influenced the French impressionist composers Debussy and Ravel, is sadly unappreciated today.
 
'You know, 30 years ago I met his granddaughter, and she gave me his complete piano works, and I fell in love with them. Mortelmans was a great original, and was a real link between Wagner and the impressionists.'
'And this lovely, charming little piece we're playing is not as famous as it ought to be.'
 
© CanWest MediaWorks Publications Inc.

-----------------------------------

* Vlaamse Meesterwerken (Flemisch Masterpieces) - (september 2004)

An extract of the article by Gerard Van Der Leeuw, 'Actiekrant artEZ nr 161' of the Conservatoiry of Zwolle in the Netherlands.
 
Translation :
Honestly speaking, ever heard of Lodewijk Mortelmans?
If you already heard speaking of him, it must be as composer of songs. But his symphonic poems, his opera 'De Kinderen der Zee' (The Children of the Sea), never heard? Well, I can tell you miss something
Lucky a flemish company who's not blinded by any daily illusion, who steadily continues to launch magnificent recordings of unknown or hardly played works.. we're talking of Phaedra, and of their series In Flanders' fields. I was listening to their album Nr.33 of this series, covering works of Lodewijk Mortelmans for orchestra. As i carried on listening, as it went on, my admiration turned into total surprise. I heard a magnificent music, inspiring, well orchestrated with depth and enthousiasm, as rare as possible coming from this calm countries. If you only listen to 'de Dageraad en Zonsopgang' of his opera 'De kinderen der Zee', the absolute top!!
Why in the name of our muses this music remains so unknown?

-----------------------------------

* ONS ERFDEEL 1981 - 1968 - 1952

- Guido Gezelle in de muziek - (Hugo Heughebaert) Ons Erfdeel - 1981, nr 1, pp. 124-126
 
 
 
- Lodewijk Mortelmans herdacht - (Hugo Heughebaert) Ons Erfdeel - 1968, nr 4, pp. 156-157
 
- Lodewijk Mortelmans († 1952) - (Jozef Deleu) Ons Erfdeel - 1962, nr 4, pp. 69
 
 
 
© Ons Erfdeel

-----------------------------------

* Perspective of Flemish music - Prof. Dr. Floris Van Der Mueren (°02.11.1890 - †23.12.1966)

Translation:
Mortelmans has been a contemplative nature which for his songs has been guided naturally to Gezelle texts, of which he has sung the poetic essence in melodies based on a harmonization filled with mood, some of which must not give way to the noblest of what this genre has to offer in world literature. His piano compositions are for the pianist grateful literature full of poetry.
In the expression of his problems he has therefore reached heights in various symphonic works that bring him a moment near the greatest.
In particular, his' In Memoriam' is a chunk of reflection which, in a consistent repetition in which every grief motive, stripped of every pathos, is expanded and flanked by a funeral march rhythm that is captivating in its simplicity, achieves an expressive irresistibility that, in analogous points of attention, was not surpassed either by Beethoven or Wagner.

------------------------------------------

* Het algemeen Handelsblad

Translation :
And I don't know any songs, in which the music and the word sound as intimately and harmoniously as they do in the songs of Mortelmans, which are among the most beautiful that we possess here in Flanders..

* De Nieuwe Gazet

Translation :
Far too little known, what a treasure of Lieder, real gems all of which have been composed by Lodewijk Mortelmans..

* Het Nederlandsch Toneel

Translation:
He makes Lieder like Beethoven, Schubert, Grieg, and others understood it..
They come close to the Wagnerideal; poem and music complement and reinforce each other..

------------------------------------------

* Kunst voor het volk (Art for the people)

Translation:
Mortelmans is a composer, his muse does not sing common subjects, he is not oppresssed by the small daily things. The free open nature with its infinite richness of colour, in which he lived so gragely, has made him a painter: the immensity that surrounds him, when he is alone with thoughts, has carried his poetic soul to the higher..

------------------------------------------

* From the series 'Meesters der Toonkunst' (Masters of Music) - 1965-1966

part 5: August De Boeck by M. Pols
Translation :
But Benoit's most splendid pupil in undeniably Lodewijk Mortelmans, whose name enjoyed a good sound in Flemish music of his time, not only because of his numerous symphonic works and the opera 'De Kinderen der Zee' (The Children of the Sea( (converted into comedy by the composer himself), but more particularly because of his very subtle and profound songs after poems by Guido Gezelle, Hugo Verriest and Pol de Mont. In his generation, Mortelmans represented the first name of style. Everything he left behind bears the stamp of a solid personality and of a desire for flawlessness in design..

-----------------------------------

* Sommets de la Musique (Music Summits) - Casper Höweler - 1949

Conclusion :
Mortelmans is one of the most important figures in Flemish music. Rather classical than romantic of temperament, he is a man who attaches great importance to the formal. Although Romanticism was his starting point, Mortelmans did not allow himself to be carried away, but rather he sent his music with a lot of willpower to become more clear and elegant. Even the pieces he wrote in the style of continuity have a strong structure, and never fall into the unrealism of anarchic chromatism.
His work is inspired by a great lyricism, tempered by his strong logical spirit. This is his character, inclined to contemplative serenity, to transform the great passions of the soul into rest and light.
The lyrical, intimate atmosphere is what stands out in his work, and what gives him his place in the history of Flemish music. Only he could speak with the same disarming simplicity as Gezelle, about the secrets of the soul, when she quietly wants to listen and sing with herself..

------------------------------------------

* Letter from Charles Van den Borren dated 27th of february 1938

(journalist of several newspapers)
 
Translation :
I am very sorry not to be able to be present to celebrate the most sensitive among Flemish composers, a truly modern Schumann and the most penetrating interpreter of Guido Gezelle's spirit..

------------------------------------------

* Extracts of a letter by Guillaume Lekeu adressed to Lodewijk Mortelmans in february 1892

Translation :
Finally I can write you and thank you from the bottom of my heart for the gift, so entirely artistic, that you addressed to me.
I find your melodies admirable of purity, simplicity, expression and above all of a sincere accent that is very rare today. All five are very interesting... but above all there are 2 masterpieces (the word is not too strong, because these two Lieder are perfect in form and feeling), I want to talk about the 'Twee Betuwsche Liederen'. It is impossible for me to prefer one to the other because in this music there is really not one note too many. The alternation of the major and minor modes is astonishingly expressive and, at each note, it is a harmonic find, despite the apparent simplicity of the writing.
No wonder your Lied 'De Bloemen en de Sterren' (The Flowers and the Stars) won first prize in Roeselare, is that the jury has been absolutely fair there - because there is no musician in Belgium who can write 3 pages so pure of feeling and so sparkling of musical form - it's a really surprising ease of realisation and, moreover, it's beautifully constructed.

 

 

lfm logo

NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Lodewijk Mortelmans 1868-1952

-----------------------------------

* AVRIL 2018 - New Arts International

website : www.newartsint.com
 
New Arts Intl. logo Luister 10  

-----------------------------------

* 7 MARS 2018 - Basia con fuoco

www.basiaconfuoco.com
 

 
La mer n'est pas plus une plaisanterie que le fossé d'urgence. Les deux font des ravages, quelles que soient les circonstances, les supplications ou les pots-de-vin.
 
Une malédiction repose sur le jeune Ivo : dès que sa femme tombera enceinte, il sera dévoré par la mer. C'est ainsi que son père a coulé, tout comme son frère jumeau. Mais que vous ne pouvez pas échapper à votre destin sait quiconque qui a entendu parler d'Œdipe et que si c'est écrit dans les étoiles que votre vie se termine dans les vagues, alors vous noyez, même s'il n'y a pas de mer à proximité. Pour ainsi dire, parce que la mer, est audiblement présente dans 'Les Enfants de la Mer'.
 
Dès les premières notes de l'ouverture, vous entendez le bruit, les houles et l'orage... Comment voulez-vous que les notes soient? Plus visuel n'existe pas, c'est l'expressionnisme à son meilleur.
 
'Les Enfants de la mer' du compositeur belge Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868-1952) a été créé en 1920 - sans succès - et le compositeur déçu l'a adapté en une suite de 90 minutes, dont la moitié a été enregistrée par Phaedra. L'idiome romantique tardif me plaît beaucoup, tout comme l'histoire en vers de Raf Verhulst. De plus, je suis assez impressionné.
 
La performance est plus que sublime. Dirk Vermeulen fait jouer la Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen comme si leur vie en dépendait, à couper le souffle! Liesbeth Devos (Stella) est une vraie découverte pour moi. Sa voix soprano en cristal pur est extrêmement agréable à écouter et à admirer. Peter Gijsbertsen chante un Ivo émouvant, dans ce rôle il est vraiment inimitable pour moi. Comme sa voix est devenue belle et chaleureuse! Werner van Mechelen (Petrus) complète le casting d'entre milliers. ‘Ellen’ sur le texte de Frederick van Eeden (Gijsbertsen) et 'Als de ziele luistert' (Devos) complètent la 'section Mortelmans', mais il y a encore des chansons et des airs de Peter Aerts et August de Boeck. Liesbeth Devos chante le Cantilène de Francesca de La Route d'Emeraude d'August de Boeck : Ce CD est un MUST!

-----------------------------------

TOP

* 12 FEVRIER 2018 - Stretto.be


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
website : stretto.be
 

-----------------------------------

TOP

* 24 JANVIER 2018 - Melome


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
www.melome.nl/In Flanders Fields Vol97 - The Children of the Sea

-----------------------------------

TOP

* JANVIER 2018 - Opus Klassiek


 
 
PHAEDRA In Flanders' Fields 97

- Lodewijk Mortelmans : De Kinderen der Zee (selection) - Ellen, een lied van de smart - Als de ziele luistert
- Peter Aerts : In Flanders' Fields
- August De Boeck : C'est en toi, bien aimé - Cantilene de Francesca (La route d'Emeraude) - Recitative et aire de Prinses Zonnestraal (Winternachtsdroom)
 
Liesbeth Devos, soprane - Peter Gijsbertsen, tenor - Werner van Mechelen, baritone
Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen - Dirk Vermeulen, chef d'orchestre
 
PHAEDRA PH 92097 - 78'
Enregistrement: JUILLET 2017, Reutlingen
 
 
 
 
© Aart van der Wal - www.opusklassiek.nl
 

-----------------------------------

TOP

* Mardi 23 JUIN 2015 - Musique et le 'Tour de France'

 
Traduction : A la ligne d'arrivée à Paris se trouve beaucoup de l'histoire de la musique, mais que se trouve sur le parcours du Tour de France?
Un petit 'Tour' le long des endroits de passage de la caravanne du Tour, et voyons quels compositeurs y ont accordé leur nom.
 
Extrait : La troisième étape commance à Anvers, autant une ville musicale avec nombreux compositeurs, malgré que pour certains leur nom ne dira rien, comme : Jan Blockx (1851-1912), Louis Marischal (1928-1999), Marcel Mattheessens (1936) et Carl Verbraeken (1950) par example.
Ce dernier a composé des titres qui s'accordent parfaitement au Tour, comme ‘Frustration’, ‘Joie interne’, ‘Félicitations’ et – lors des chutes inévitables – ‘Je porte tes blessures’.
 
Plus connu est le compositeur anversois Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868-1952), surnommé ‘Le Brahms flamand’.
Mortelmans était pour la vie musicale d'Anvers, ce que Willem Mengelberg signifiait pour celle d'Amsterdam. Il invitait des compositeurs comme Mahler, Strauss et Rachmaninov vers sa ville pour y diriger leurs œuvres et se trouvait sur le pupitre à côté de grand solistes comme Pablo Casals et Pablo de Sarasate.
Il mit Anvers musicalement parlant sur la carte. Qu'il aimait la compétition apparait dans le fait qu'il fût l'un des fondateurs du Concours Ysaÿe, qui devint plus tard le Concours Reine Elisabeth.
La troisième étape se termine sur le fameux Mur de Huy, un village ou Lambert Chaumont (1630-1712) compositeur, y vivait comme prêtre ses quarante dernières années. C'est là, dans les Ardennes qu'il écrivait sa belle musique pour orgue. Les Musicologues d'aujourd'hui, s'étonnent encore de son niveau élevé.
 
www.sinfinimusic.com

-----------------------------------

TOP

* Lundi 24 DECEMBRE 2012 - Klassiek Centraal - recension

Lodewijk Mortelmans
Peter Vanhove, piano - Yuriy Mynenko, countertenor

 
Lorsque vous entendez le nom de Lodewijk Mortelmans à la radio, il s'agit dans 95% des cas de
‘Het Wielewaalt en het Leeuwerkt’, comme si cet homme n'a composé que cette pièce pour piano.
 
 
Pavane Records ADW 7547
 
Nomination Gouden Label: Als de ziele luistert - PDF en néerlandais

-----------------------------------

TOP

* Zondag 20 MAART 2011 - 11:00

Plaats : Koningin Elisabethzaal - Antwerpen

* Zaterdag 19 MAART 2011 - 20:00

Plaats : Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekathedraal - Antwerpen

* Vrijdag 18 MAART 2011 - 20:00

Plaats : Muziekcentrum De Bijloke - Gent
Raadselachtig concert met Martyn Brabbins - deFilharmonie
Martyn Brabbins, dirigent
Paul Watkins, cello
 
 
 
Programme :
Lodewijk Mortelmans - Mythe der Lente, Symfonisch Gedicht
William Walton - Celloconcerto
Edward Elgar - Enigmavariaties, Op.36
 
 
www.kwadratuur.be

-----------------------------------

TOP

* SEPTEMBRE 2010 - Extrait de Flanders Today

Flanders Today, a free weekly English-language newspaper, is an initiative of the Flemish Region.
 

 
 
 

Concert:
Samedi 23 OCTOBRE 2010 - DeSingel Antwerpen - Vocaal Collectief
Lodewijk Mortelmans : Fantasie Dans - Mythe der Lente
 
 
LINK: Agenda 2010
 
 

* Jeudi 14 JANVIER 2010

Lyrik und Ebenmaß : der Symphoniker Lodewijk Mortelmans wiederentdeckt
Poésie et symétrie: l'Oeuvre Symphonique de Lodewijk Mortelmans redécouvert
 
Traduction :
Enfin, les débuts belges de Lodewijk Mortelmans en tant que premier orchestre symphonique belge exceptionnel seront récompensés par des 'honneurs discographiques'.
Deux des œuvres enregistrées ici, 'Homerische Symphonie' (1898) et 'Morgenstemming' (1922), sont également apparues ces dernières années dans la série 'Repertoire Explorer' de la partition d'étude, ce qui prouve la dissémination et la vérifiabilité des résultats de services immenses. Mortelmans était un élève de Peter Benoit, le 'père de la musique flamande', qui avec son magnum sacré opus 'Hoogmis' avait fixé des normes élevées de caractère conservateur.
Un article de Christoph Schlüren - Edition: 12-2009 - Volume 58
Les dieux de la maison de Mortelmans étaient Bach, Beethoven et Wagner, et cela est clairement audible. Les mélodies et l'harmonie de Wagner, en particulier, ont laissé leur empreinte - d'une manière apaisée et parfaitement façonnée. Dans la 'Symphonie homérique', chef-d'œuvre des trois quarts d'heure, Mortelmans se révèle être un poète enthousiaste de la symétrie classique et construit la grande architecture avec une économie extrême à partir d'un minimum de matière thématique. Un mouvement d'ouverture modérément héroïque, sincère, hymniquement lumineux et généreusement conçu est suivi d'un lento tragique comme pièce maîtresse de l'œuvre, qui, dans sa force objectivement archaïque, devient une marche funéraire captivante et, dans sa beauté pure et ses dimensions, développe une capacité portante apparemment infinie de la tension intérieure.
 
S'ensuit un scherzo de sirène art nouveau délibérément éphémère, doucement ornemental et art nouveau, avec un trio émouvant et un final majestueux, triomphant et noble qui, malgré toute sa splendeur, ne se transforme jamais en une expression affirmative. On y trouve deux poèmes symphoniques, le premier 'Mythe der lente' (1895) avec un programme panthéiste-fantastique emprunté à l'Edda, et certainement avec un drame romantique, et le dernier 'Morgenstemming' - une peinture sensuelle pure et pure sous forme solide mais fluide, un jeu de couleurs et d'ambiances à dominante naturelle et intime, enchâssé dans une structure claire et motivante, harmonique et - comparable à l'autrichien Joseph Marx ou aux créations lyriques de Respighis - dans le produit de base, une symbiose de mélancolie et de légèreté comme un écho bourgeonnant, rêvé, des temps perdus. L'Orchestre philharmonique royal flamand sous la baguette de Martyn Brabbins joue un rôle digne dans un son transparent et splendide.
Lodewijk Mortelmans: Homerische Symphonie, Morgenstemming, Mythe der lente; Martyn Brabbins dir. Orchestre Philharmonique Royal Flamand. HYPERION CDA 67766 (Vertr. Codaex)  -  Plus d'informations: Hyperion Records  -  www.nmz.de/artikel/lyrik-und-ebenmass

-----------------------------------

TOP

* NOVEMBRE 2009 - Extrait de www.opusklassiek.nl

CD-recension : Mortelmans: Homerische symfonie – Morgenstemming – Mythe der lente
Koninklijke Vlaamse Filharmonie - Martyn Brabbins, chef d'orchestre
HYPERION CDA67766
 
 
 
..Ceci est le premier Cd du ‘Royal Flemish Philharmonic’ sur le label Hyperion.
Chef d'orchestre Martyn Brabbins et l'orchestre – deFilharmonie – se connaissent depuis bien longtemps.
Pour ce disque, beaucoup d'efforts y ont été apporté, et le résultat est magnifique.
 
www.opusklassiek.nl
© Siebe Riedstra, november 2009

-----------------------------------

TOP

* 9 MAI 2007 - The Ottawa Citizen - Canada

Dorian Prince, European Commission's ambassador to Canada
 
Dorian Prince and Margaret Lysak will perform a free concert May 11 2007 at 8 p.m. at First Baptist Church, 140 Laurier Ave, sponsored by the Ottawa Chamber Music Society
 
There are some surprises, however :
In the second half, on piano, he will accompany the soprano Margaret Lysak in Belgian composer Lodewijk Mortelmans - Het wielewaalt en leeuwerkt, a song that mimics the sound of two birds playing on the beach at Antwerp. Prince believes that Mortelmans, who taught and influenced the French impressionist composers Debussy and Ravel, is sadly unappreciated today.
 
'You know, 30 years ago I met his granddaughter, and she gave me his complete piano works, and I fell in love with them. Mortelmans was a great original, and was a real link between Wagner and the impressionists.'
'And this lovely, charming little piece we're playing is not as famous as it ought to be.'
 
© CanWest MediaWorks Publications Inc.

------------------------------------------

TOP

* Vlaamse Meesterwerken (Chef-d'Oeuvres Flamandes) - (septembre 2004)

Un extrait de l'article par Gerard Van Der Leeuw, 'Actiekrant artEZ nr 161' du Conservatoire de Zwolle au Pays-Bas.
 
Traduction :
Honnêtement parlant, déjà entendu parler de Lodewijk Mortelmans?
Si déjà vous avez entendu parler de lui c'est indiscutablement comme compositeur de chansons. Mais ses poèmes symphoniques, son opéra 'De Kinderen der Zee' (Les Enfants de la Mer), jamais entendu? Eh bien, je vous dis, vous avez manqué quelque chose.
Heureusement une société flamande qui ne se laisse aveugler par l'illusion du jour, qui continue tranquillement de lancer de magnifiques enrégistrements d'œuvres quasiment inconnus de pièces à tort peu ou pas joué.. il s'agit de Phaedra, et de leur série In Flanders' fields. J'écoutait leur album Nº33 de cette série, œuvres de Lodewijk Mortelmans pour orchestre. Et j'écoutait avec toujours plus d'admiration, oui même avec une totale stupéfaction. J'entendit une musique magnifique, inspiré, brillamment orchestré avec une profondeur et un enthousiasme envoûtant, comme on entend que rarement dans nos pays calmes. Ne fût-ce que 'de Dageraad en Zonsopgang' de son opéra 'De kinderen der Zee', le top absolut !!
Pourquoi au nom de nos muses cette musique est-elle tellement inconnue?

-----------------------------------

TOP

* ONS ERFDEEL 1981 - 1968 - 1952

- Guido Gezelle in de muziek - (Hugo Heughebaert) Ons Erfdeel - 1981, nr 1, pp. 124-126
 
 
 
- Lodewijk Mortelmans herdacht - (Hugo Heughebaert) Ons Erfdeel - 1968, nr 4, pp. 156-157
 
- Lodewijk Mortelmans († 1952) - (Jozef Deleu) Ons Erfdeel - 1962, nr 4, pp. 69
 
 
 
© Ons Erfdeel

------------------------------------------

TOP

* Perspective de la musique Flamande - Prof. Dr. Floris Van Der Mueren (°02.11.1890 - †23.12.1966)

Traduction :
Mortelmans avait une nature contemplative qui, pour ses chansons, l'a guidée naturellement vers les textes de Gezelle, dont il a chanté l'essence poétique dans des mélodies basées sur une harmonisation pleine d'humeur, dont certains ne doivent pas céder la place aux plus nobles de ce que ce genre a à offrir dans la littérature mondiale. Ses compositions pour piano sont pour le pianiste une littérature pleine de poésie.
Dans l'expression de ses problèmes, il a donc atteint des sommets dans diverses œuvres symphoniques qui lui apportent un moment proche des plus grands.
En particulier, son "In Memoriam" est un morceau de réflexion qui, dans une répétition constante où chaque motif de chagrin, dépouillé de tout pathos, est élargi et flanqué d'un rythme de marche funèbre qui captive par sa simplicité, atteignant un sommet d'une irrésistible expressivité qui, dans des points d'attention analogues, n'a été surpassée ni par Beethoven ni par Wagner.

-----------------------------------

* Het algemeen Handelsblad

Traduction :
Et je ne connais pas de chants, où la musique et le mot sonnent aussi intimement et harmonieusement qu'ils le font dans les Lieder de Mortelmans, qui sont parmi les plus belles que nous possédons ici en Flandre..

* De Nieuwe Gazet

Traduction :
Beaucoup trop peu connu, c'est un trésor de lieder, de véritables joyaux qui ont été composées par Lodewijk Mortelmans..

* Het Nederlandsch Toneel

Traduction :
Il compose des lieder comme Beethoven, Schubert, Grieg et d'autres l'ont compris..
Ils s'approchent de l'idéal Wagnerienne; le poème et la musique se complètent et se renforcent mutuellement..

* Kunst voor het volk (l'Art pour le Peuple)

Traduction :
Mortelmans est un compositeur, sa muse ne chante pas des sujets banals, il n'est pas coincé dans l'étroit carcan de la vie quotidienne. La nature libre et ouverte avec sa richesse infinie de couleurs, dans laquelle il vivait si gracieusement, a fait de lui un peintre: l'immensité qui l'entoure, lorsqu'il est seul avec les pensées, a porté son me poétique vers plus haut..

------------------------------------------

* De la série 'Meesters der Toonkunst' (Maîtres de musique)

partie 5: August De Boeck par M. Pols de 1965-1966
 
Traduction :
Mais l'élève le plus splendide de Benoit dans l'indéniable Louis Mortelmans, dont le nom jouit d'un bon son dans la musique flamande de son époque, non seulement à cause de ses nombreuses œuvres symphoniques et de l'opéra 'De Kinderen der Zee' (Les Enfants de la Mer( (converti en comédie par le compositeur lui-même), mais surtout à cause de ses chansons très subtiles et profondes après les poèmes de Guido Gezelle, Hugo Verriest et Pol de Mont. Dans sa génération, Mortelmans représente le premier nom du style. Tout ce qu'il laisse derrière lui porte la marque d'une personnalité solide et d'un désir de perfection dans l'esthétique..

-----------------------------------

* Sommets de la Musique - Casper Höweler - 1949

Conclusion :
Mortelmans est l'une des figures les plus importantes de la musique flamande. Plutôt classique que romantique de tempérament, c'est un homme qui attache une grande importance au formel. Bien que le romantisme fût son point de départ, Mortelmans ne se laissa pas emporter, mais envoya sa musique avec beaucoup de volonté pour devenir plus claire et élégante. Même les pièces qu'il a écrites dans le style de continuité ont une structure forte, et ne tombent jamais dans l'irréalisme du chromatisme anarchique.
Son travail s'inspire d'un grand lyrisme, tempéré par son fort esprit logique. C'est son caractère, enclin à la sérénité contemplative, pour transformer les grandes passions de l'âme en repos et en lumière.
C'est l'atmosphère lyrique et intime qui se détache de son œuvre et qui lui donne sa place dans l'histoire de la musique flamande. Seul lui pouvait parler avec la même simplicité désarmante que Gezelle, des secrets de l'âme, quand elle veut tranquillement écouter et chanter avec elle-même..

------------------------------------------

* Lettre de Charles Van den Borren, datée 27 février 1938

(journaliste de plusieurs journaux)
 
Traduction :
Je suis vraiment désolé de ne pas pouvoir être présent pour célébrer le plus sensible des compositeurs flamands, un Schumann vraiment moderne et l'interprète le plus pénétrant de l'esprit de Guido Gezelle..

------------------------------------------

* Extraits d'une lettre de Guillaume Lekeu adressée en février 1892 à Lodewijk Mortelmans

Enfin je puis vous écrire et vous remercier du fond du coeur pour le cadeau, si pleinement artistique, que vous m'avez adressé.
Je trouve vos mélodies admirables de pureté, de simplicité d'expression et surtout d'un accent sincère bien rare aujourd'hui. Toutes cinq sont très intéressantes... mais il y a surtout 2 chefs-d'œuvre (le mot n'est pas trop fort, car ces deux lieder sont parfaits de forme et de sentiment), je veux parler des 'Twee Betuwsche Liederen'. Il m'est impossible de préférer l'un à l'autre, car dans cette musique il n'y a vraiment pas une note de trop... L'alternance des modes majeur et mineur est étonnante d'effet expressif et, à chaque note, c'est une trouvaille harmonique, malgré la simplicité apparente de l'écriture…
 
Il n'est pas étonnant que votre Lied 'De Bloemen en de Sterren' (des Fleurs et des Etoiles) ait eu le 1er Prix à Rousselare, c'est que le jury y a été absolument équitable - car il n'y a pas de musicien en Belgique capable d'écrire 3 pages aussi pures de sentiment et aussi étincelantes de forme musicale - c’est d'une aisance de réalisation vraiment surprenante et, en outre, c'est admirablement construit.
TOP