NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Painters

 
Franck Mortelmans

° 24.07.1898 Antwerpen - † 04.04.1986 Antwerpen
- pastelschilder
- zoon van Antoon Mortelmans
 

Short biography

Franck Mortelmans was born on 24 July 1898 in Klapdorp 121 in Antwerp, the parental home of the Mortelmans family. After all, his father Antoon took over the shop and small printing shop from the parents. Franck grew up in the same house as Antoon and his brothers, the painter Frans Mortelmans and the composer Lodewijk Mortelmans.
 
Franck's youth was a great discovery of the harbour area and the polders behind it. His love for the Scheldt River, for the polder landscapes and for port activities will later prove abundant in his many pastel works and drawings. From his childhood on it becomes clear that Franck's drawing is in his blood. He follows the lessons in the Academy of Antwerp with Isidoor Opsomer and Julian de Vriendt. In the Academy of Berchem with his uncle Frans, in the private school of Henry Luyten in Brasschaat, and for a while in the studio for animal painting with Frans Hens.
 
In 1919 he joined the modernist circle 'Lumière', founded by his good friend Roger Avermaete. In that period he experimented with tight depictions in strong colors, albeit without being artificial, but still continuing to work in a formal way. In the Lumière circuit, the main focus was on linocut and wood engraving, which revived the art of woodcarving. In this circle artists such as the Belgians Frans Masereel, Joris Minne, Henry Van Straten, the brothers Joseph and Jan-Frans Cantré (the so-called Five), Joseph Peeters, Felix Timmermans, etc. circulated. Also the Dutch including Fokko Mees, and the French Jean-Emile Laboureur, Jean Lebedeff, Henri Le Fauconnier and André Lhote, the Germans Max Pechstein, Erich Heckel, Conrad Felixmuller and Hans Orlowski. From the very beginning it was a very international company.
 
In 1926, Franck became a teacher at the School for Craftmanship, founded by Roger Avermaete and remained there until 1946. The first classrooms were in the Lantschot chapel on the Falconrui, where around 1900 the social philosophical movement 'De Kapel’ (The Chapel) had its home base, and where his uncle Lodewijk Mortelmans gave concerts for the numerous listeners there.
'De Kapel' was a gathering place for artists and intellectuals, and lectures, exhibitions and concerts were held for everyone who wanted to hear or see it.
At the beginning of the thirties Franck joined the 'Modern art' circle. In this circle he meets artists such as Gerard Baksteen, Ernest Albert, Oscar Verpoorten, Pieter Rottie, Gustaaf Van Steenwegen, Edmond Van Dooren, Frans van Giel, Paul Joostens and sculptor Albert Poels.
 
Franck also became a teacher at the Academy of Berchem in 1936 and at the Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp in 1946. In 1958 he became director of the Academy of Berchem, and remained so until his retirement in 1968.
 
One of his bosom friends is the artist Oscar Van Rompay of Lier, with whom he often speaks and who has the same philosophy about art. Together they exchange ideas about art and its evolutions. Both have a great deal of reticence with regard to the modern artistic tendencies prevailing at the time.
 
The work of Franck Mortelmans, who followed the path of modernism in the twenties, slowly returned to a more classical style of form. The focus is on the horizon lines, the water of rivers or the sea, and the wondrous play of clouds. Images that, just like Claude Monet, depict a snapshot of a changing atmosphere in a landscape or sea view. And that's what Franck Mortelmans wants to show us in his work.
 
His drawings often seem rough sketches, but Franck succeeds in showing a lot, sometimes with little pencil or ink. Franck Mortelmans has exhibited a lot, but he cherished too much of his own work to sell it. As a Pastellist he was also an excellent portraitist, sometimes large portraits on commissions from the bourgeoisie, but above all a great many small portraits that he invariably passed on to his models.
 
Franck Mortelmans was an Officer in the Crown Order and in the Leopold Order.
In 1983, the province of Antwerp awarded him ‘de Versierselen van het Poorterschap’.
 
Franck Mortelmans will dedicate his entire life to the preservation of nature and urban beauty. He first became an exchange of letters member of the Royal Commission for Monuments and Sites, where he seated until he was compulsorily retired at the age of seventy in 1968.
 
After the death of his first wife Mit Matthé in 1972, he remarried Melanie Diris (1936-2010) in 1977. Together they share another 10 happy years until his death on April 4th of 1986. Franck is buried at the small honorary park of the cemetery Schoonselhof.
 
Text: Dirk Schiltz
 
    [L] Franck in Ostend - [R] Franck and Melanie 'Mil' Diris in their house at the Meir
 
 
   [L] 1929 De Schelde at Hemixem - [R] 1929 De Schelde
 

 

TOP

Pastel paintings

 

TOP

Modern Period

 

TOP

Portraits

 

TOP

Drawings

 

TOP

Posters

 

TOP

NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Peintres

 
Franck Mortelmans

° 24.07.1898 Antwerpen - † 04.04.1986 Antwerpen
- pastellist
- fils de Antoon Mortelmans
 

Brève biographie

Franck Mortelmans est né le 24 juillet 1898 à Klapdorp 121 à Anvers, le foyer parental de la famille Mortelmans. Son père Antoon a repris l'atelier et la petite imprimerie des parents. Franck grandit dans la même maison qu’Antoon et ses oncles, le peintre Frans Mortelmans et le compositeur Lodewijk Mortelmans.
 
La jeunesse de Franck fut une grande découverte de la zone portuaire et des polders derrière elle. Son amour pour l'Escaut, pour les paysages de polders et pour les activités portuaires s'avérera plus tard abondant dans ses nombreux pastels et dessins. Dès son plus jeune age, il devient clair que le dessin pour Franck est dans son sang. Il suit des cours à l'Académie d'Anvers auprès de Isidoor Opsomer et Julian de Vriendt. A l'Académie de Berchem auprès de son oncle Frans, et à l'école privée d'Henry Luyten à Brasschaat, et peu de temps dans l'atelier de peinture animalière auprès de Frans Hens.
 
En 1919, il rejoint le cercle moderniste 'Lumière', fondé par son bon ami Roger Avermaete. Pendant cette période, il a expérimenté des représentations serrées en couleurs fortes, sans être artificiel, mais en continuant à travailler de manière formelle. Dans le circuit de Lumière, l'accent a été mis sur la linogravure sur lin et sur la gravure sur bois, ce qui a relancé l'art de la sculpture sur bois. Dans ce cercle circulaient des artistes tels que les Belges Frans Masereel, Joris Minne, Henry Van Straten, les frères Joseph et Jan-Frans Cantré (les Cinq), Joseph Peeters, Felix Timmermans, etc. Aussi les Hollandais dont Fokko Mees, et les Français Jean-Emile Laboureur, Jean Lebedeff, Henri Le Fauconnier et André Lhote, les Allemands Max Pechstein, Erich Heckel, Conrad Felixmuller et Hans Orlowski. Dès le début, il s'agissait d'une entreprise très internationale.
 
En 1926, Franck devient professeur à l'école professionnelle pour l'art artisanal, fondé par Roger Avermaete et y reste jusqu'en 1946. Les premières salles de classe se trouvaient dans la chapelle Lantschot sur le Falconrui, où vers 1900 le mouvement philosophique social ‘De Kapel’ avait sa base, et où son oncle Lodewijk Mortelmans donnait des concerts pour les nombreux auditeurs.
'De Kapel' (La Chapelle) était un lieu de rassemblement pour les artistes et les intellectuels, et des conférences, des expositions et des concerts étaient organisés pour tous ceux qui voulaient l'entendre ou la voir.
Au début des années trente, Franck a rejoint le cercle de l'Art Moderne. Dans ce cercle, il rencontre des artistes tels que Gerard Baksteen, Ernest Albert, Oscar Verpoorten, Pieter Rottie, Gustaaf Van Steenwegen, Edmond Van Dooren, Frans van Giel, Paul Joostens et le sculpteur Albert Poels.
 
Franck devient également professeur à l'Académie de Berchem en 1936 et à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts d'Anvers en 1946. En 1958, il devient directeur de l'Académie Berchem et le restera jusqu'à sa retraite en 1968.
 
L'un de ses amis est l'artiste Oscar Van Rompay de Lier, avec qui il parle souvent et qui a la même philosophie de l'art. Ensemble, ils échangent des idées sur l'art et ses évolutions. Tous deux ont beaucoup de réticence par rapport aux tendances artistiques modernes de l'époque.
 
L'œuvre de Franck Mortelmans, qui a suivi la voie du modernisme dans les années vingt, est lentement revenue à un style de forme plus classique. L'accent est mis sur les lignes d'horizon, l'eau des rivières ou de la mer, et le jeu merveilleux des nuages. Des images qui, tout comme Claude Monet, représentent un instantané d'une atmosphère changeante dans un paysage ou une vue sur la mer. Et c'est ce que Franck Mortelmans veut nous montrer dans son travail.
 
Ses dessins semblent souvent des croquis bruts, mais Franck réussit à montrer beaucoup de choses, parfois avec peu de crayon ou d'encre. Franck Mortelmans a beaucoup exposé, mais chérissait trop son propre travail pour le vendre. Pastelliste, il était aussi un excellent portraitiste, parfois de grands portraits sur commande de la bourgeoisie, mais surtout un grand nombre de petits portraits qu'il transmettait invariablement à ses modèles.
 
Franck Mortelmans était officier dans l'Ordre de la Couronne et dans l'Ordre Léopold.
En 1983, la province d'Anvers lui a décerné 'de Versierselen van het Poorterschap'.
 
Franck Mortelmans consacrera toute sa vie à la préservation de la nature et de la beauté urbaine. Il est d'abord devenu membre de la Commission royale d'enquête sur les monuments et les sites et y siège jusqu'à sa retraite obligatoire à l'âge de soixante-dix ans, en 1968.
 
Après le décès de sa première épouse Mit Matthé en 1972, il se remarie avec Mélanie Diris (1936-2010) en 1977. Ensemble, ils partagent 10 autres années heureuses jusqu'à sa mort, le 4 avril 1986. Franck est enterré dans le petit parc d'honneur du cimetière Schoonselhof.
 
Texte: Dirk Schiltz
 
    [L] Franck à Oostende - [R] Franck et Melanie 'Mil' Diris dans leur maison sur le Meir
 
 
   [L] 1929 De Schelde à Hemixem - [R] 1929 De Schelde
 

 

TOP

Pastel peintures

 

TOP

Période Moderne

 

TOP

Portraits

 

TOP

Dessins

 

TOP

Affiches

 

TOP