NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Lodewijk Mortelmans 1868-1952

 

Lodewijk MortelmansPrince of the Flemisch Lied

 
Lodewijk Mortelmans was born in Antwerp on Februari 5th 1868,
as second son of printer Karel Mortelmans.
He died on Tuesday June 24th 1952 in Antwerp and is burried
on the main field of honor at the 'Schoonselhof' cimetary.
 
He was an outstanding, universal belgian musician and composer.
His unique and poetic classical songs, his intimate and delicate piano music
and his imaginative orchestral pieces rank among the European masterworks
of the end of the 19th and the early 20th century.
 
 

Dr. J. L. Broeckx

hand in plasterIn his book on Lodewijk Mortelmans, Dr. Jan L. Broeckx describes the composer's music as universally significant, timeless and cross-border.
(Een Van-Nu-en-Strakser der muziek - Editions NV. Standaard-Boekhandel 1945)

Queen Elisabeth Competition

Logo Concours Queen ElisabethDe bloemen en de sterren1938 Concours Eugene YsayeLodewijk Mortelmans broadened the horizons of the "Belgian music scene",
being also one of the founders of the International Contest Eugène Ysaye, the present Queen Elisabeth International Music Competition of Belgium.
 

1887 - Peter Benoit - De Bloemen en de Sterren

After completing his musical education at the age of 19, he studied composition and orchestration under Peter Benoit. In this same year, his first lied "De bloemen en de sterren" was awarded 1st price of the concours 'Vlaams-Hollands Tornooi' in Roeselare.
 

1893 - Prix de Rome

1893 Participants of Grand Prix de RomeIn 1889 he already participated 'just to try' and obtained, together with Paul Lebrun, a shared Second Prix de Rome with his cantate Sinaï. He then was 21 years old. Although in 1891, he had to interrupt his participation due to illness.
In 1893 at the age of 25, Lodewijk Mortelmans was awarded the First Prize of Rome with his cantate Lady Macbeth. [Photo of the participants]

1899 - Festival Lodewijk Mortelmans

Lodewijk MortelmansHis symphonic work was received with enthusiasm during a Lodewijk Mortelmans festival, organised in Antwerp in 1899. From then on he was regarded as the indisputable leader of the Antwerp music scene. Lodewijk Mortelmans and Paul Gilson were the most important composers of a generation that breathed new life into Flemish music.
 
From personal notes of Lodewijk Mortelmans :
"On april 17th 1899 a great concert took place in Antwerp where only works of Lodewijk Mortelmans under his conduct were performed. It were Helios, Mythe der Lente, Een lied van de smart, Salve Regina and Homerische Symphonie, all composed after his Prix de Rome. This concert confirmed definetively the reputation of Lodewijk Mortelmans. Joseph Dupont by the way, had already performed his 'Mythe der Lente' at the 'Concerts Populaires' in Brussels."
 
 

Guido Gezelle

Guido GezelleWith Lodewijk Mortelmans, Flemish music became more refined in form. He had an exceptionally rich personality, which was genuinely reflected in his music. In his art he strived to combine extreme formal beauty with great natural feeling. His songs, often using poems by Guido Gezelle, are among the most beautiful of the genre in all Europe.
The composer was also a gifted pedagogue, who formed numerous famous musicians, such as
Lodewijk De Vocht, Marinus De Jong, Emmanuel Durlet and Flor Peeters.

Royal Flemisch Academy of Music

Lodewijk MortelmansFrom 1901 to 1924 he was professor of counterpoint and fugue at the Royal Flemish Academy of Music in Antwerp, whose principal he became in 1924 and stayed until his retirement in1933. In addition to that, he lectured at the Interdiocesan School for Church Music in Mechelen, the present Lemmens Institute in Louvain.
 
After the death of Emile Wambach on May 6th 1924, Mortelmans became the fourth director of the Antwerp Conservatory on September 6th of that year. Under Mortelmans' leadership, the number of pupils fell by about half: from 1,500 in 1924 to 740 in 1931. This can be explained by a concurrence of circumstances: the economic crisis, the higher taxes on live music in cafes and dance halls, as a result of which many operators opted for a mechanical organ or a turntable, the breakthrough of the sound film and also Mortelmans' striving for quality.
 
In those days the directorship was mainly seen as a reward for eminent composers. Nevertheless, Mortelmans had to devote a great deal of time and energy to administrative matters. In a letter from Pol De Mont on 16 June 1926, he complained about the bureaucracy that killed every creativity: "Life demands of me, lonely, a great sacrifice. Composing? I'm so caught up in the wheels of the administrative machine that I don't know anymore if I've ever been able to compose or if I'm ever able to compose it again". Mortelmans' most important merit as a conservatoire director was perhaps that he attached a great deal of importance to the symphonic conservatoire concerts. In May 1933, for example, he organised a three-day Brahms festival. It was one of his last activities as a conservatory director because that year he reached the age limit and was succeeded by Flor Alpaerts.
   © www.svm.be - Studiecentrum voor Vlaamse Muziek vzw - Jan Dewilde

Royal Society of New Concerts

Nieuwe Concerten 1910In 1903, Mortelmans became the founding conductor of the Koninklijke Maatschappij der Nieuwe Concerten in Antwerp (Royal Society of New Concerts) and brought this orchestra at the musical top of Belgium. He managed to have famous musicians such as Gustav Mahler, Siegfried Wagner, Hans Richter, Richard Strauss and Sergei Rachmaninov to conduct his orchestra in Antwerp.
 
Lodewijk Mortelmans conducted himself world famous soloists such as Pablo de Sarasate, Jacques Thibaud, Eugène Isaye, Pablo Casals and Fritz Kreisler.
As a conductor he combined technical perfection with great musical feeling.

1921 - American Journey

Gabrielle MortelmansDuring a successful tour in the United States of America (1920), Lodewijk Mortelmans was invited by Pablo Casals to become the conductor of a well-known Symphonic Orchestra. Some works were edited after agreements with Schirmer in New York and with Composers Musical Corporation.
 
Lodewijk Mortelmans rejected this honorable offer, because during the war, in 1917, he had lost his wife Gabrielle Mortelmans and two of his sons, and therefor felt responsible for the education of his five other children.
   (Guido †10.01.1917 - Gabriella Mortelmans †03.05.1917 - Frits †22.07.1917)
 
The trip started on the night of 29th of March 1921 from Antwerpen to Baltimore on board of the Nerviër (Shipping Company : Lloyd Royal Belge).
The Cunard Line was choosen for the returntrip, whilst the crossing of these vessels due to conflicts is unsafe.
 
On the 9th of june 1921 Misses Gabrielle Radoux, Daisy Jean and himself sailed of for Cherbourg aboard the Lodewijk Mortelmans & Gabrielle RadouxRMS Saxonia on a ten days journey. From there on, they would travel home by train.
In his correspondance he expected to be home in the Helenalei around the 23st.
 
Lodewijk Mortelmans remarried on january 14th of 1922, with the pianist and musical pedagogue Gabrielle Radoux.
 
 
Photo: Lodewijk Mortelmans & Gabrielle Radoux
©www.libraryconservatoryantwerp.be

Navea - Sabam

NAVEA Nr.1NAVEA Nr.1Lodewijk Mortelmans was founder, founding member and first president of the authors rights association NAVEA in Belgium, actually named SABAM,
and had the membership Nr. 1.
 
Co-foundors of Navea are amongst others : Emiel Hullebroeck, Lode Bakelmans, Lode Monteyne, Edward Verheyden, Frans Van Dyck, Flor Alpaerts, Jan Broeckx.
He was member of the Royal Flemish Academy for Sciences, Literature and Fine Arts.
 
Photos: Navea Membernummer 1 - Lodewijk Mortelmans and Emiel Hullebroek
 

Bösendorfer

Bösendorfer piano Lodewijk MortelmansThe late pianist Philibert Mees played for many years on this exceptional instrument. He bought the piano from composer and conductor Ivo Mortelmans, son of Lodewijk. The Mees family handed it over to our foundation.
 
Today this piano is stored in the privat museum House Mortelmans in Antwerp, only 20m away from the house of the family Mortelmans. Dirk Schiltz, actual president of the foundation, is manager of this museum.
 
Photo: quarter grand piano Bösendorfer 1926 of Lodewijk Mortelmans
 

Helenalei 17  -  Waasmunster

Helenalei 17 AntwerpenAfter his retirement in 1933 Lodewijk Mortelmans lead a retired life in Waasmunster where he continued the composition of piano music, the orchestration of early Lieder, the arrangement of folk Lieder and the writing of a manual for counterpoint.
 
He travelled back and forth for years between his residence in the Helenalei and their countryhouse in Waasmunster. When there was no railcar from Linkeroever (Left Bank of the river Schelde in Antwerp), which sometimes occured, you could only make the long walk by foot (approx. 30km). Waasmunster offered him the chance to make long walks, where nature became his source of inspiration. He lived and worked there, with Gabrielle Radoux, where family came to visit them.
 
Family storytelling:
"Around 1920 one day he catched pneumonia, because no railcar came along, and he had to wait in the cold on the left bank. Then, later, in 1952 he was ill for a while, first at his home in the Helenalei and finally at the hospital. After three weeks he died in the hospital, complete weakened, completely used up."
 
Antoon Mortelmans 1910 HeideHis brother Frans Mortelmans had his summer house in the village of Heide, on the borders of the Kalmthoutse heide. The gifted sculptor Josué Dupon was there his neighbour, whom had there too his summer house.
 
Link Agenda: Sunday 24 JUNE 2012 : Regarding the 60th anniversary of the death of Lodewijk Mortelmans, a commemorative plate was placed on his house, Helenalei 17 in Antwerp, in presence of the Antwerp Alderman of Culture, Philip Heylen.
 
Photo right: Aquarel by Antoon Mortelmans : country house of Frans in 1910

Waasmunster - Het Patrijske

   Photos below: House 'Het Patrijske' Waasmunster - Lodewijk Mortelmans, with daughter Holda, with Godchild Erica Schiltz and dog Bobby, and with daughter Frieda a.o.
Waasmunster Lodewijk Mortelmans Waasmunster Lodewijk Mortelmans Waasmunster & dochter Holda Lodewijk Mortelmans, Erica Schiltz, Bobby in Waasmunster Lodewijk Mortelmans Waasmunster & dochter Frieda  

 

Death

Lodewijk Mortelmans died on the 24th of june 1952 at the hospital "Sint-Camillus Gesticht", actually Gasthuiszusters, in Antwerp. He was widower of Mrs. Gabrielle Mortelmans, and husband of Mrs. Mevrouw Gabrielle Radoux. The funerary monument for Lodewijk Mortelmans is located on the large field of honor N of the Schoonselhof cimetary in Antwerp.
 
Both the Netherlands and Belgium honored Lodewijk Mortelmans with several high distinctions:
Lodewijk Mortelmans Honorary Medals  - Ere-bestuurder van het Koninklijk Vlaamse Konservatorium
  - Lid van de Koninklijke Vlaamse Academie
  - Stichtend lid van de Koninklijke Maatschappij der Nieuwe Concerten
  - Groot-Officier in de Leopoldsorde
  - Groot-Officier in de Orde van Oranje Nassau
  - Groot-Officier in de Kroonorde
  - Commandeur in de Leopoldsorde
  - Commandeur in de Kroonorde
  - Officier in de Leopoldsorde
  - Ridder in de Kroonorde
  - Burgerlijke Medaille van 1e Klasse van 1914-1918.

Statistics

The music of Mortelmans in the maintime is played in more than 45 countries. (source Sabam 2007)
Since the start of this association, 50 CD's were edited, containing his music.
 
graphicThe statistics of our website compared to the nations of our visitors confirm the international recognition of his works:
America, Argentinia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brasil, Croatia, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Roemenia, Russia, Taiwan, Turkey, South-Africa, South-Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine..
 
By the end of 2018, our website has grown into a meeting place with approximately 4500 visitors from 81 countries.
LFM

NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Lodewijk Mortelmans 1868-1952

 

Lodewijk MortelmansPrince du Lied Flamande

 
Lodewijk Mortelmans est né à Anvers le 5 février 1868.
Il est le deuxième fils de l'imprimeur Charles Mortelmans.
Il est décédé le mardi 24 juin 1952 à Anvers
et est enterré sur le grand champ d'honneur au cimetière 'Schoonselfhof'.
 
C'était un musicien et compositeur belge éminent et universel.
Ses chansons poètiques, ses compositions pour piano, intimes et subtiles,
et ses oeuvres pour orchestre comptent parmi les chefs d’oeuvres de
la musique européenne de la fin du XIXe siècle et du début du XXe siècle.
 
 

Dr. J. L. Broeckx

hand in plasterLe Dr. Jan L. Broeckx témoigne dans son livre sur Lodewijk Mortelmans de la dimension universelle, intemporelle et illimitée, de la musique du compositeur.
(Een Van-Nu-en-Strakser der muziek - Editions NV. Standaard-Boekhandel 1945)

Concours Reine Elisabeth

Logo Concours Reine ElisabethDe bloemen en de sterren1938 Concours Eugene YsayeLodewijk Mortelmans a élargi les horizons de la vie musicale belge.
Il était également un des fondateurs du Concours International Eugène Ysaye, l’actuel Concours Musical International Reine Elisabeth de Belgique.
 

1887 - Peter Benoit - De Bloemen en de Sterren

Lodewijk Mortelmans a terminé ses études de musique à l’âge de 19 ans pour se perfectionner ensuite auprès de Peter Benoit dans la composition et l’orchestration.
Cette même année, il reçu pour son premier Lied intitulé "De bloemen en de sterren" le premier prix lors du concours 'Vlaams-Hollands Tornooi' à Roeselare.
 

1893 - Prix de Rome

1893 Participants of Prix de RomeEn 1889, agé de 21 ans, il participa 'juste un fois pour essayer', et obtint, avec Paul Lebrun, un second Prix de Rome partagé, proposant sa cantate Sinaï. En 1891, suite à une maladie, il dût interrompre sa participation.
En 1893, Lodewijk Mortelmans, alors 25 ans, gagnait le premier Prix de Rome avec sa cantate Lady Macbeth. [Photo des participants]

1899 - Festival Lodewijk Mortelmans

Lodewijk MortelmansUn Festival Lodewijk Mortelmans eu lieu à Anvers en 1899. Son oeuvre symphonique reçut un accueil enthousiaste. A partir de ce moment-là, Lodewijk Mortelmans était considéré comme la figure de proue incontestée de la vie musicale anversoise. Avec Paul Gilson, il était le compositeur principal de la jeune génération qui a rénové la musique flamande.
 
Des notes privés de Lodewijk Mortelmans :
"Le 17 avril 1899 se tenait à Anvers un grand Concert reprenant que des oeuvres de Lodewijk Mortelmans et conduit par lui-même. Ce fûrent les oeuvres Helios, Mythe der Lente, Een lied van de smart, Salve Regina et Homerische Symphonie, toutes composés après son Prix de Rome. Ce concert fixait définitivement la réputation de Lodewijk Mortelmans. D'ailleurs Joseph Dupont avait déjà repris 'Mythe der Lente' lors des Concerts Populaires à Bruxelles."
 
 

Guido Gezelle

Guido GezelleLodewijk Mortelmans a rendu à la musique flamande une grande finesse d’expression. Sa riche personnalité polyvalente et éclectique s’exprimait musicalement d’une manière unique. Son idéal artistique était d’unir la beauté parfaite à l’authenticité. Ses Lieder, écrit souvent sur des textes de Guido Gezelle, se rangent parmi les plus beaux de l’art du Lied européenne.
Bon pédagogue, le compositeur a formé de nombreux musiciens, comme
Lodewijk De Vocht, Marinus De Jong, Emmanuel Durlet et Flor Peeters.

Conservatoire Royal Flamand de Musique

Lodewijk MortelmansLodewijk Mortelmans était professeur de contrepoint et de fugue au Conservatoire Royal Flamand d’Anvers de 1901 jusqu’en 1924. Ensuite, il y fût nommé directeur jusqu’à sa retraite en 1933. Il enseignait également la composition à l’école interdiocésaine à Malines, réputée pour sa musique religieuse, l’actuel Institut Lemmens à Louvain.
 
Après la mort d'Emile Wambach le 6 mai 1924, Mortelmans devient le quatrième directeur du Conservatoire d'Anvers le 6 septembre de la même année. Sous la direction de Mortelmans, le nombre d'élèves a chuté de moitié environ : de 1.500 en 1924 à 740 en 1931. Cela peut s'expliquer par un concours de circonstances : la crise économique, les taxes plus élevées sur la musique en direct dans les cafés et les salles de danse, ce qui a conduit de nombreux opérateurs à opter pour un orgue mécanique ou une table tournante, la percée du film sonore et la recherche de qualité de Mortelmans.
 
A cette époque, la direction était surtout considérée comme une récompense pour d'éminents compositeurs. Néanmoins, Mortelmans a dû consacrer beaucoup de temps et d'énergie aux questions administratives. Dans une lettre de Pol De Mont du 16 juin 1926, il se plaint de la bureaucratie qui tue toute créativité : "La vie exige de moi, seule, un grand sacrifice. Composer? Je suis tellement pris dans les rouages de la machine administrative que je ne sais plus si j'ai jamais été capable de composer ou si je suis capable de composer à nouveau". Le plus grand mérite de Mortelmans en tant que directeur de conservatoire était peut-être qu'il attachait beaucoup d'importance aux concerts du conservatoire symphonique. En mai 1933, par exemple, il organisa un festival de Brahms de trois jours. C'était l'une de ses dernières activités en tant que directeur de conservatoire car cette année-là, il a atteint la limite d'âge et Flor Alpaerts lui a succédé.
   © www.svm.be - Studiecentrum voor Vlaamse Muziek vzw - Jan Dewilde

Société Royale des Nouveaux Concerts

Nieuwe Concerten 1910En 1903, Lodewijk Mortelmans fût fondateur et chef d’orchestre de la Koninklijke Maatschappij der Nieuwe Concerten à Anvers. (Société des Nouveaux Concerts)
 
Grâce à lui, cet orchestre était à la pointe de la vie musicale belge. Il y invitait d’illustres chefs d’orchestre, comme Gustav Mahler, Siegfried Wagner, Hans Richter, Richard Strauss et Sergei Rachmaninov et leur présentait un ensemble parfaitement préparé.
Des solistes mondialement célèbres, comme Pablo de Sarasate, Jacques Thibaud, Eugène Isaye, Pablo Casals et Fritz Kreisler ont joué sous sa direction.
Il était un chef d’orchestre de grand format qui parvenait à associer une technique parfaite à une musicalité exquise.

1921 - Tournée en Amérique

Gabrielle MortelmansDurant une tournée triomphale aux Etats-Unis (1921), Pablo Casals lui proposait de postuler pour la fonction de chef d'orchestre du Boston-Symphonic. Plusieurs de ses oeuvres y fûrent publiés, entre autre chez Schirmer à New York et chez Composers Musical Corporation.
Mais Lodewijk Mortelmans refusa cette offre, ayant perdu sa femme et deux de ses fils en 1917. Evidemment il se sentait le seul responsable de ses cinq autres enfants et de leur éducation.
   (Guido †10.01.1917 - Gabriella Mortelmans †03.05.1917 - Frits †22.07.1917)
 
Ce voyage débuta la nuit du 29 mars 1921 au départ d'Anvers vers Baltimore à bord du navire Nerviër (armateur Lloyd Royal Belge).
La Cunard Line fût choisi pour le voyage du retour, vu que la navigation par ces navires suite aux conflits étaient devenu périlleux. Lodewijk Mortelmans & Gabrielle Radoux
Le 9 juin 1921 Mlle. Gabrielle Radoux, Daisy Jean et lui-même partirent pour Cherbourg à bord du RMS Saxonia pour une traversée de 10 jours. Puis ils prendraient le train direction Anvers. Dans sa correspondance, il espère rentrer à la Helenalei pour le 23.
 
Lodewijk Mortelmans se remariait le 14 janvier 1922 avec la pianiste et pédagogue de musique Gabrielle Radoux.
 
 
Photo: Lodewijk Mortelmans & Gabrielle Radoux
©www.libraryconservatoryantwerp.be

Navea - Sabam

NAVEA Nr.1NAVEA Nr.1Lodewijk Mortelmans était fondateur, membre fondateur, et le premier président de l'association des droits d'auteurs NAVEA en Belgique, l'actuel SABAM,
ayant le numéro d'affilié Nr. 1.
 
Co-fondateurs de la Navea sont entre autres : Emiel Hullebroeck, Lode Bakelmans, Lode Monteyne, Edward Verheyden, Frans Van Dyck, Flor Alpaerts, Jan Broeckx.
Il était membre de l’Académie Flamande des Sciences, Lettres et Beaux-arts.
 
Photos: Navea Numéro d'affilié 1 - Lodewijk Mortelmans et Emiel Hullebroek
 

Bösendorfer

Bösendorfer piano Lodewijk MortelmansC'est sur cet instrument exceptionnel que le défunt pianist Philibert Mees a joué durant des années. Lui-même avait acheté le piano du compositeur et chef d'orchestre Ivo Mortelmans, fils de Lodewijk. C'est la famille Mees qui a fait don de ce piano à notre Fondation.
 
Aujourd'hui, il est entreposé dans le musée privé Maison Mortelmans à Anvers, à peine à 20m de la maison familiale des Mortelmans. Dirk Schiltz, actuel président de la fondation, est gérant de ce musée.
 
Photo: piano à queue de studio Bösendorfer de Lodewijk Mortelmans
 

Helenalei 17  -  Waasmunster

Helenalei 17 AntwerpenAprès sa mise en pension en 1933, Lodewijk Mortelmans se retira à Waasmunster où il continua de composer de la musique pour piano, l'orchestration de ses Lieder, l'arrangement des Lieder populaires et l'écriture d'un manuel pour contre-point.
 
Il voyagait toutes ces années entre la maison dans la Helenalei et leur maison de campagne à Waasmunster. Et lorsqu'il n'y avait pas de tram sur la Linkeroever (Rive Gauche de l'escaut à Anvers), on continuait à pied, ce qui se produisait de temps à autre (approx. 30km). Waasmunster lui offrît la chance de se promener dans les alentours, avec la nature comme source d'inspiration.
Il y vivait et travaillait, avec Gabrielle Radoux, et où la famille leur rendait visite.
 
Récit de famille:
"Un jour vers 1920, il a attrapé une pneumonie, parce qu'il a dû attendre le tram dans le froid sur la Linkeroever. Et plus tard, en 1952 sa santé se déteriorait, et le rendit un temps malade, d'abord à la Helenalei et puis à l'hôpital. Après trois semaines, épuisé, entièrement usé, il y est décédé."
 
Antoon Mortelmans 1910 HeideSon frère Frans Mortelmans avait sa propriété de campagne dans le village de Heide, aux abords de la Kalmthoutse heide. Le talentueux sculpteur Josué Dupon y était son voisin, et y avait aussi sa maison de campagne.
 
Lien Agenda: Dimanche 24 JUIN 2012 : Pour le 60ième anniversaire du décès de Lodewijk Mortelmans, une plaque commémorative a été divulgée à son domicile, Helenalei 17 à Anvers, en présence de l'échevin Anversois de la Culture, Philip Heylen.
 
Photo à droite: Aquarelle par Antoon Mortelmans : maison de campagne de Frans en 1910

Waasmunster - Het Patrijske

   Photos ci-dessous: Maison 'Het Patrijske' Waasmunster - Lodewijk Mortelmans, sa fille Holda, avec filleule Erica Schiltz et chien Bobby, et sa fille Frieda e.a.
Waasmunster Lodewijk Mortelmans Waasmunster Lodewijk Mortelmans Waasmunster & dochter Holda Lodewijk Mortelmans, Erica Schiltz, Bobby in Waasmunster Lodewijk Mortelmans Waasmunster & dochter Frieda  

 

Décès

Lodewijk Mortelmans décède le 24 juin 1952 à l'hôpital "Sint-Camillus Gesticht", actuellement Gasthuiszusters, à Anvers. Il était veuf de Madame Gabrielle Mortelmans, et époux de Madame Gabrielle Radoux. Le monument funéraire pour Lodewijk Mortelmans se trouve sur le grand champ d'honneur N du cimetière Schoonselhof à Anvers.
 
Autant les Pays-Bas que la Belgique lui ont décerné de hautes distinctions honorifiques:
Lodewijk Mortelmans Honorary Medals  - Ere-bestuurder van het Koninklijk Vlaamse Konservatorium
  - Lid van de Koninklijke Vlaamse Academie
  - Stichtend lid van de Koninklijke Maatschappij der Nieuwe Concerten
  - Groot-Officier in de Leopoldsorde
  - Groot-Officier in de Orde van Oranje Nassau
  - Groot-Officier in de Kroonorde
  - Commandeur in de Leopoldsorde
  - Commandeur in de Kroonorde
  - Officier in de Leopoldsorde
  - Ridder in de Kroonorde
  - Burgerlijke Medaille van 1e Klasse van 1914-1918.

Statistiques

La musique de Mortelmans est actuellement produit dans plus de 45 pays. (source Sabam 2007)
Depuis le début de cette association, 50 CD's ont été édité, reprenant sa musique.
 
graphicLes statistiques de notre site comparés aux pays de nos visiteurs confirment la reconnaissance internationale de ses oeuvres:
Afrique du Sud, Allemagne, Amérique, Angleterre, Argentine, Australie, Autriche, Belgique, Brazile, Corée du Sud, Côte d'Ivoire, Finlande, France, Grèce, Inde, Israel, Italie, Japon, Croatie, Mexique, Norvège, Oekraine, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Roemanie, Russie, Suède, Suisse, Taiwan, Turquie..
TOP
LFM