NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE
banner LFM

Artistic Circles in Antwerp at the time of the flemish mouvement
 

DE SCALDEN - Antwerp (1889-1914)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

De Scalden - 1889The artistic cercle De Scalden was founded in 1889 and lead by the medallist Jules Baetes.
The initially had two objectives :
exhibitions of 'decorative art' and parades (artistic design of official parades and carnival parades).
The outbreak of World War I meant the end in 1914 for De Scalden.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FOUNDATION CHARTER

De Scalden - stichtingsakte 1889
 
Charter of Foundation from 1889
(City Archives - Antwerpen)

LETTER 25.04.1900

Brief van De Scalden aan Lodewijk Mortelmans
 
Letter to Lodewijk Mortelmans
(source AMVC)

  LETTERHEAD

Briefhoofd De Scalden 
 
 
 
 
TOP

PARADES

Their first goal was to give the floats of the many stalls of that time a more artistic character. The first participation in a procession in 1889 was scalding with a group under the name Ons Voorgeslacht (Our Ancestors). It was the start of a number of successful participations in festive events for the club.
The Scalden rapidly grew into a real art association. Many students from the Antwerp art academy joined. They came from all possible different art directions and the association set itself the main goal of bringing art to the common man.
They moved at a time when the first innovations in the art world in Flanders started. In 1883, the The XX association had already arisen in Brussels, and Flanders with Antwerp in the lead were somewhat behind. A number of circles such as Wees Uzelf, Als ik kan, Arte et Labore, and L'association pour L'art indépendant were ahead of De Scalden, but were less able to really push through to the common people at that time.
 
On the occasion of the '300th anniversary of the birth of Antoon Van Dyck' :
 
stoet VanDijck cover                                      1899 - Album du Grand Cortège
 
1899 - cover : The art through the Ages - cover booklet 'Album du Grand Cortège'
 
1899 Praalwagen Van Dyck, tekening Frans Proost                                        1899 Praalwagen Van Dyck, tekening Gerard Portielje                                        1899 Praalwagen Van Dyck, tekening Jules Baetes
1899 - Parade float 'Van Dyck' - resp. drawing of Frans Proost, Gerard Portielje, Jules Baetes

 
1892 Praalwagen Landjuweel Rubenskring            kunststoet De Noormannen                                       De Vikings in de stoet                      Antoon Mortelmans in de stoet
1892 Parade float 'Landjuweel Rubenskring' - group picture art circle 'De Noormannen' - 'The Vikings in the Parade'
 
 
 
TOP

EXHIBITIONS

De ScaldenAs a second objective, 'De Scalden' organized several exhibitions with works they described as 'Monumental, Decorative and Applied Art'. The exhibited works came from the ranks of the members of the circle, which was not a problem due to the large number of members and their diversity.
 
Unique regarding this circle certainly was their diversity. There were not only painters and sculptors, but also poets, writers, composers, leather manufacturers, decorators, blacksmiths, medallists, poster designers, architects, etc.
 
 
 
 
TOP

POSTERS - ARCHIVES

De Scalden verjaringsfeesten 1889-1909In general one can say that 'De Scalden' formed the bridge between the more traditional tendencies, and the first renewers. Unfortunately, the archive of the association has been lost.
 The reconstitution of its activities must be done by merging the fragmentary data that can still be found here and there. This is also achieved by opening up documents that are in private archives.
 
In 2005, the Leuven student Koen Legrand headed by his supervisor Dr. Chris Coppens in a fascinating licensing deal brought back 'De Scalden' to the forefront.
'With the yearbooks 'De Scalden' also entered the field of printing and the book.'
His summary is:
'Edmond van Offel clearly took the lion's share of the work as an initiator by providing drawings, poems, stories and ideological texts. It may be clear that 'De Scalden', with their yearbooks, not only wanted to promote the revaluation of the book but also put a whole range of other elements into it, such as ideology and folklore.’
 
POSTERS - INVITATIONS
Affiches De Scalden                                       De Scalden 1898           De Scalden 1905 LA SOURCE VITALE (Jos Divoort - Tentoonstelling 1905) Cover             De Scalden 1905 LA SOURCE VITALE (Jos Divoort - Tentoonstelling 1905) Catalogus inlay

 
De Scalden Affiche 2e Tentoonstelling - Edward Pellens (AMVC)                                       De Scalden Affiche 3e Tentoonstelling           De Scalden Affiche 6e Tentoonstelling          De Scalden Affiche 7e Tentoonstelling
TOP

MEMBERS

More than 120 artists were members of The Scalden. We've listed some of them :
  • Audiens Arthur
  • Baeckelmans Lode
  • Baetes Jules
  • Bascourt Jos
  • Carpentier André
  • Collens Karel
  • De Beuckelaer C.
  • De Boeck August
  • De Cuyper Floris
  • Delin Emile
  • Delrue Em.
  • De Meyere Victor
  • De Mont Pol
  • Dierckx Floris
  • Dierckx Pieter
  • Dom Pol
  • Dupon Josue
  • Elliott George
  • Gogo Felix
  • Hanno Fritz
  • Hassall John
  • Hens Frans
  • Huyghelen Frans
  • Jacobs Theo
  • Joors Eugene
  • Koch Ferdinand
  • Leclercq R.
  • Mees Jerome
  • Muller Leopold
  • Mortelmans Antoon
  • Mortelmans Frans
  • Mortelmans Lodewijk
  • Ontrop Lodewijk
  • Pellens Edward
  • Pierre Arthur
  • Portielje Gerard
  • Posenaer Jozef
  • Proost Frans
  • Rosiers René
  • Rotthier Leon
  • Rudelsheim Marten
  • Stoffels ...
  • Vaes Walter
  • Van Averbeke Emiel
  • Van der Loo Marten
  • Van der Veken V.
  • Van De Woestijne Karel
  • Van Havermaet Charles
  • Van Langendonck Prosper
  • Van Mechelen Alexis
  • Van Mieghem Eugeen
  • Van Neste Alfred
  • Van Offel Constant
  • Van Offel Edmond
  • Van Wijck J.
  • Verhees Lodewijk
  • Vloors Emile
  • ...
Leden van De Scalden
Image : from left to right :
Frans Mortelmans, Charles Van Havermaet, Leopold Muller, Jan Coppens, Jerome Mees, Jos Goossens, Jules Baetes
(© ADVN Antwerpen)
 
Around 1900, the art circle 'De Kapel' also arose in Antwerp, in which various Scalden were also actively involved.
TOP

HOMAGE BOOKS

   There are also some unique Scalden books known, intended for one particular artist :
 - 1893 HOMAGE BOOK TO LODEWIJK MORTELMANS
   (the oldest known book by 'De Scalden')
   as a result of his First prize of Rome (book in private possession)
 
 - 1903 HOMAGE BOOK TO JOSUÉ DUPON EN POL DE MONT,
   resp.: sculptor (book in private possession) , and writer-poet (book in possession of AMVC),
   following their appointment as 'Knight in the Leopold Order'
 
 - 1904 HOMAGE BOKS TO JULES BAETES
   the chairman of the first hour
   (Prentenkabinet - Antwerpen)
1893 Huldenboek aan Lodewijk Mortelmans                   1893 tekening Frans Mortelmans                                             tekening van Jules Baetes                  tekening Leon Rotthier
Homage Book to Lodewijk Mortelmans - drawings of Frans Mortelmans, Jules Baetes and Leon Rotthier
1903 Huldenboek Josue Dupon
1903 - Homage Book to Josué Dupon
Jules Baetes - 1894 
Jules Baetes :
Bronz medall
Leopold II, King of Belgians
1894 - Antwerp Exhibition
 
 
TOP

16 YEARBOOKS

Their edition of 16 yearbooks between 1897 and 1912, all remarkable, different in size and content are among the toppers in Flemish book art and were always bound in a special way.
For this, Edmond Van Offel was the most important mentor. The calendars, songbooks, poetry collections (amongst which of Pol de Mont), collections of tales, fairy tales, proverbs and humor were richly illustrated with original woodcuts, lithographs and drawings by members.
 
De Scalden 1889 Jaarboek 01                         De Scalden 1898 Jaarboek 02a               De Scalden 1898 Jaarboek 02b               De Scalden 1900 Jaarboek 03                  De Scalden 1901-1902 Jaarboek 04                    De Scalden 1901 Jaarboek 05
De Scalden 1902 Jaarboek 06                         De Scalden 1903 Jaarboek 07                  De Scalden 1907 Jaarboek 10                         De Scalden 1905 Jaarboek 08              De Scalden 1906 Jaarboek 09                   De Scalden 1908 Jaarboek 11
De Scalden 1909 Jaarboek 12            De Scalden 1910 Jaarboek 13                     De Scalden 1912 Jaarboek 14               De Scalden 1914 Jaarboek 16
   fltr. : Yearbook 1 till 16
 
An important objective of the yearbooks was to present what she, De Scalden, described as community art, this is a form of art created by various artists (literary, visual, decorative) and accessible to everyone.
 
Edmond van Offel, as an example, presents the gothic cathedrals where the builders, the workmen, the sculptors and the painters produced art for common use: beautiful buildings where the gregorian chants resounded under the perfect arches and where the colorful cartoons in the stained glass windows are accessible to everyone goods.
 
How 'De Scalden' have shaped this objective, we see in the yearbooks. Because of their content and design, binding and binding, we get a harmonious collaboration between artist and craftsman: a 'Gesamtkunstwerk' as often in the Jugendstil was pursued.
 
Jaarboek06 De Scalden 1902-2.jpgThe beautifully executed 6th yearbook, was a posthumous biography of Karel Collens by Edmond van Offel. The yearbook is nicely bound in a linen band, with in two submerged compartments a text written in bas-relief sculpturally: 'K. Collens. The Scalden '. The book has a large oblong format (220x260mm) and can be tied with two ribbons.
 
 
 
The first and second yearbook of 'De Scalden' still show no homogeneity and were more a bundling of separate contributions without a bearing theme, with both classic and modern illustrations.
 
The third, fourth and last yearbook were published as a calendar and are stylistically homogeneous. Because these yearbooks could effectively be used as a calendar, they fit in well with 'De Scalden's' aim to revalue applied art. By publishing these calendars in book form, they were also able to include many artistic contributions.
 
In the first calendar yearbook from 1899, the months were beautifully framed by various artists. In these edges often visual elements are processed that illustrate the period of the year. The yearbook is classified according to the four seasons with pictures that evoke the atmosphere of the current season. These 'frames' became a recurring element in all the yearbooks and completely fit in the art nouveau fashion of the time. They also sometimes referred to the Kelmscott Press style of William Morris (1834-1896), but the design was freer, less rigid than Morris.
 
Folklore was a dominant theme in many yearbooks. Here we see with certainty the influence of Pol de Mont (1857-1931), who played an important role in the ideology of 'De Scalden'. De Mont was a pioneer of folklore and of the revaluation of the popular heritage in Flanders. For De Mont, folklore was more than just a study. She was an 'integral part of the awakening consciousness of the Flemish people, she fitted within the framework of striving for a higher culture, through better knowledge of Flemish traditions and customs, through the extraction of lost treasures, the preservation and honor love everything that went back to the past of the own tribe'.
 
Edmond van Offel took care of the expenses of the yearbooks. He was the editor, the compiler and he also produced a lot of visual work and copy. He was also very interested in folklore. Not only under the influence of Pol de Mont, but also under the influence of his father who had done important work in this area. He had left entire folders of notes in which he described the Antwerp of his time. Edmond Van Offel edited these writings into the book 'Father tells'.
 
The seventh yearbook is all about children's stories. Children's tales consist of ten stories for children, four of which were written and illustrated by Edmond van Offel. 'De Scalden' counted the young people to their audience and wanted to bring them the better children's tale.
 
The eighth yearbook from 1905 brings Old and New Folk songs with a nationalistic touch. The Lied 'Houdt u fier' [Stay proud] is illustrated with a knight who waves a Flemish Lion flag.
A Flemish Lion is included in the title initial 'H'. This 'Houdt u fier' is a new song composed by the Scalden member Lodewijk Mortelmans on text from Pol de Mont, who also took the initiative for the composition of this book.
 
The eleventh yearbook from 1908 is a collection of Flemish proverbs. The layout of this beautiful work is tighter and follows the style of William Morris. Van Offel compiled and provided two illustrations. The choice of proverbs was determined by their visualisability and their interesting historical and folkloristic sources.
 
The sixteenth and last yearbook appeared in 1912, again with a strong folkloristic slant: The people's house and its decoration, Folkloric study by Victor de Meyere. Victor de Meyere (1873-1938) was one of the most important Antwerp folklorists. In this yearbook he tries to bring a picture of a Flemish people's house with all attributes and customs, in order to interpret the individuality of the Flemish people. Due to the outbreak of the First World War this sixteenth yearbook was also the last.
 
Source De Jaarboeken : Tiecelijn, 20, 2007 - pages.7-8
 
Sources : LFM, ADVN, AMVC, Raymond Vervliet, dbnl.org, , Willy Feliers
TOP

 

lfm logo

NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Cercles Artistiques à Anvers du temps du mouvement flamand
 

DE KAPEL - Anvers (1899-1906)

De Scalden - 1889Le cercle artistique De Scalden fût érigé en 1889 et était sous la conduite du médailleur Jules Baetes.
Au début, ils avaient deux objectifs :
des expositions de 'l'Art de la décoration' et des cortèges (expression artistique de cortèges officiels et cortèges carnaval).
Mais l'éclat en 1914 de la 1ère Guerre Mondiale signifiait en même temps la fin pour De Scalden.
 
 
 
 

ACTE DE FONDATION

De Scalden - stichtingsakte 1889
 
L'acte de fondation de 1889
(Archives - Ville d'Anvers)

LETTRE 25.04.1900

Brief van De Scalden aan Lodewijk Mortelmans
 
Lettre à Lodewijk Mortelmans
(source AMVC)

  EN-TÊTE DE LETTRE

Briefhoofd De Scalden 
 
 
 
 
TOP

CORTÈGES

Leur premier but était de donner aux chars des multiples cortèges un caractère plus artistique. La première participation à un cortège en 1889 avec des membres du cercle De Scalden était sous le nom Ons Voorgeslacht (Notre Ascendance). Ceci fût pour le cercle le début de plusieurs participations fructueuses aux cortèges festives.
De Scalden évoluaient rapidement vers un reel cercle artistique. Plusieurs étudiants de l'académie d'art d'Anvers joignaient le cercle. Ils provenaient de divers directions artistiques et le cercle se fixait comme but principal d'amener l'art auprès de chaque citoyen.
Ils s'activaient dans un temps où les premièrs renouvellements dans le monde artistique en Flandre pointait son nez. En 1883 un cercle de Bruxelles Les XX venait de débuter, et en Flandres avec en tête Anvers restait un peu en retrait. Quelques cercles artistiques comme Wees Uzelf (Soyez vous-même), Als ik kan (Si je Peux), Arte et Labore, et L'association pour L'art indépendant avaient précèdé De Scalden, mais à ce moment ne parvenaient pas à réellement impressioner les gens de la rue.
 
A l'occasion du '300ième anniversaire de la naissance de Antoon Van Dyck' :
 
stoet VanDijck cover                                      1899 - Album du Grand Cortège
 
1899 - couvertures : L'art à travers les siècles - Livret 'Album du Grand Cortège'
 
1899 Praalwagen Van Dyck, tekening Frans Proost                                        1899 Praalwagen Van Dyck, tekening Gerard Portielje                                        1899 Praalwagen Van Dyck, tekening Jules Baetes

1899 - Char 'Van Dyck' - resp. dessin de Frans Proost, Gerard Portielje, Jules Baetes
 
 
1892 Praalwagen Landjuweel Rubenskring            kunststoet De Noormannen                                       De Vikings in de stoet                      Antoon Mortelmans in de stoet
1892 - Char 'Landjuweel Rubenskring' - photo du cercle 'Les Normands' - 'Les Vikings dans le Cortège'
 
 
 
TOP

EXPOSITIONS

De ScaldenComme deuxième objectif 'De Scalden' organisaient plusieurs expositions avec des oeuvres qu'ils décrivaient comme 'Monumental, Décoratif et l'Art Appliqué'. Les oeuvres exposées sortaient des rangs des membres, ce qui avait le vaste nombre et la diversité des membres ne possait aucun problème.
 
Le côté unique de ce cercle était certainement sa diversité. Il n'y avait pas que des peintres et sculpteurs, mais aussi des poètes, écrivains, compositeurs, travailleurs de cuir, décorateurs, forgerons, médailleurs, dessinateurs d'affiches, architectes, etc.
 
 
 
 
TOP

AFFICHES - ARCHIVES

De Scalden verjaringsfeesten 1889-1909En général, on peut dire que 'De Scalden' formait un pont entre les tendances plus traditionnels, et les premiers réformateurs. Malheureusement les archives du cercle sont perdu à jamais.
 Retrouver et recomposer leurs activités se doit dorénavant en joignant les données fragmentaires qui se trouvent encore ci et là. Ainsi que par l'accès aux documents qui se trouvent dans des archives privées, et par la recherche.
 
En 2005 l'étudiant à Louvain Koen Legrand sous la conduite de son promoteur Chris Coppens écrit son essai mettant de nouveau 'De Scalden' sur l'avant plan.
‘Avec ces livres annuels, les De Scalden entraient sur le domaine de l'impression et du livre.'
Son résumé reprends:
‘Edmond van Offel, preneur d'initiatives, prenait la plupart du travail sur lui, en livrant autant les dessins, les poèmes, les histoires et les textes idéologiques. Il est évident que De Scalden ne voulait pas seulement revaloriser le livre à travers les livres annuels, autant en y rajoutant d'autres éléments comme idéologie ou folkore.'
 
AFFICHES - INVITATIONS
Affiches De Scalden                                       De Scalden 1898           De Scalden 1905 LA SOURCE VITALE (Jos Divoort - Tentoonstelling 1905) Cover             De Scalden 1905 LA SOURCE VITALE (Jos Divoort - Tentoonstelling 1905) Catalogus inlay

 
De Scalden Affiche 2e Tentoonstelling - Edward Pellens (AMVC)                                       De Scalden Affiche 3e Tentoonstelling           De Scalden Affiche 6e Tentoonstelling          De Scalden Affiche 7e Tentoonstelling
TOP

MEMBRES

Plus de 120 artists étaient membres et collaborateurs auprès du cercle De Scalden. On y retrouvait parmi :
  • Audiens Arthur
  • Baeckelmans Lode
  • Baetes Jules
  • Bascourt Jos
  • Carpentier André
  • Collens Karel
  • De Beuckelaer C.
  • De Boeck August
  • De Cuyper Floris
  • Delin Emile
  • Delrue Em.
  • De Meyere Victor
  • De Mont Pol
  • Dierckx Floris
  • Dierckx Pieter
  • Dom Pol
  • Dupon Josue
  • Elliott George
  • Gogo Felix
  • Hanno Fritz
  • Hassall John
  • Hens Frans
  • Huyghelen Frans
  • Jacobs Theo
  • Joors Eugene
  • Koch Ferdinand
  • Leclercq R.
  • Mees Jerome
  • Muller Leopold
  • Mortelmans Antoon
  • Mortelmans Frans
  • Mortelmans Lodewijk
  • Ontrop Lodewijk
  • Pellens Edward
  • Pierre Arthur
  • Portielje Gerard
  • Posenaer Jozef
  • Proost Frans
  • Rosiers René
  • Rotthier Leon
  • Rudelsheim Marten
  • Stoffels ...
  • Vaes Walter
  • Van Averbeke Emiel
  • Van der Loo Marten
  • Van der Veken V.
  • Van De Woestijne Karel
  • Van Havermaet Charles
  • Van Langendonck Prosper
  • Van Mechelen Alexis
  • Van Mieghem Eugeen
  • Van Neste Alfred
  • Van Offel Constant
  • Van Offel Edmond
  • Van Wijck J.
  • Verhees Lodewijk
  • Vloors Emile
  • ...
Leden van De Scalden
Image : de gauche à droite :
Frans Mortelmans, Charles Van Havermaet, Leopold Muller, Jan Coppens, Jerome Mees, Jos Goossens, Jules Baetes
(© ADVN Antwerpen)
 
Vers 1900, le cercle d'art 'De Kapel' a également vu le jour à Anvers, dans lequel divers Scalden étaient également activement impliqués.
TOP

LIVRES D'HOMMAGE

   Quelques livres d'hommage des De Scalden sont uniques en leur genre, et étaient destiné à un seul artiste :
 - 1893 LIVRE D'HOMMAGE À LODEWIJK MORTELMANS
   (le livre le plus ancien des 'De Scalden')
   à l'occasion de son Premier Prix de Rome (livre en propriété privé)
 
 - 1903 LIVRE D'HOMMAGE À JOSUÉ DUPON ET POL DE MONT,
   resp.: sculpteur (livre en propriété privé) , et écrivain-poète (en propriété privé AMVC),
   suite à leur nomination en tant que 'Chevalier de l'Ordre Léopold'
 
 - 1904 LIVRE D'HOMMAGE À JULES BAETES
   le président dès la première heure
   (Prentenkabinet - Anvers)
1893 Huldenboek aan Lodewijk Mortelmans                   1893 tekening Frans Mortelmans                                             tekening van Jules Baetes                  tekening Leon Rotthier
1893 Livre d'Hommage à Lodewijk Mortelmans - dessins de Frans Mortelmans, Jules Baetes et Leon Rotthier
1903 Huldenboek Josue Dupon
1903 - Livre d'Hommage à Josué Dupon
Jules Baetes - 1894 
Jules Baetes :
Médaille de bronze
Leopold II, Roi des Belges
1894 - Exposition d'Anvers
 
 
TOP

16 LIVRES D'HOMMAGE

La parution des 16 livres annuels (1897-1914), tous remarquables, et différents de format et de contenu, appartiennent au sommet de la litérature flamande et fûrent chacun relié par un mode particulier. Edmond Van Offel étant le tuteur le plus important à ce sujet.
Les calendriers, livres de chants, réceuils de poèmes (e.a. de Pol de Mont), collection de contes, contes de fées, proverbes et humour fûrent richement illustrés avec des gravures sur bois, lithographies et dessins originaux.
 
De Scalden 1889 Jaarboek 01                         De Scalden 1898 Jaarboek 02a               De Scalden 1898 Jaarboek 02b               De Scalden 1900 Jaarboek 03                  De Scalden 1901-1902 Jaarboek 04                    De Scalden 1901 Jaarboek 05
De Scalden 1902 Jaarboek 06                         De Scalden 1903 Jaarboek 07                  De Scalden 1907 Jaarboek 10                         De Scalden 1905 Jaarboek 08              De Scalden 1906 Jaarboek 09                   De Scalden 1908 Jaarboek 11
De Scalden 1909 Jaarboek 12            De Scalden 1910 Jaarboek 13                     De Scalden 1912 Jaarboek 14               De Scalden 1914 Jaarboek 16
   dgàd. : Livre Annuel de 1 à 16
 
Un objectif important des livres annuels était de présenter ce qu'elle, De Scalden, décrit comme l'art communautaire, c'est une forme d'art créée par divers artistes (littéraire, visuel, décoratif) et accessible à tous.
 
Edmond van Offel, par exemple, présente les cathédrales gothiques où les constructeurs, les ouvriers, les sculpteurs et les peintres produisaient un art d'usage commun: beaux bâtiments où résonnaient les chants grégoriens sous les arcades parfaites et où les dessins colorés des vitraux étaient accessibles à tous marchandises.
 
Comment 'De Scalden' ont façonné cet objectif, nous le voyons dans les livres annuels. En raison de leur contenu, de leur conception et de leur reliure, nous obtenons une collaboration harmonieuse entre l'artiste et l'artisan: un 'Gesamtkunstwerk' aussi souvent dans le Jugendstil a été poursuivi.
 
Jaarboek06 De Scalden 1902-2.jpgLe 6ème livre annuel magnifiquement exécuté, était une biographie posthume de Karel Collens par Edmond van Offel. L'album est joliment relié dans une bande de toile, avec dans deux compartiments submergés un texte écrit en bas-relief sculptural: 'K. Collens. De Scalden'. Le livre a un grand format oblong (220x260mm) et peut être attaché avec deux rubans.
 
 
 
Le premier et le second livre annuel de 'De Scalden' ne montrent toujours pas d'homogénéité et sont plutôt un regroupement de contributions séparées sans thème porteur, avec des illustrations classiques et modernes.
 
Le troisième, quatrième et dernier livre annuel ont été publiés en tant que calendrier et sont stylistiquement homogènes. Parce que ces livres annuels pourraient effectivement être utilisés comme un calendrier, ils cadrent bien avec l'objectif de 'De Scalden' de revaloriser l'art appliqué. En publiant ces calendriers sous forme de livre, ils ont également été en mesure d'incorporer de nombreuses contributions artistiques.
 
Dans le premier livre annuel de 1899, les mois ont été magnifiquement encadrés par divers artistes. Dans ces bords souvent des éléments visuels sont traités qui illustrent la période de l'année. Le livre annuel est classé selon les quatre saisons avec des images qui évoquent l'atmosphère de la saison en cours. Ces 'cadres' sont devenus un élément récurrent dans tous les livres annuels et complètement adaptés à la modede l'art nouveau de l'époque. Ils se référaient aussi parfois au style Kelmscott Press de William Morris (1834-1896), mais le dessin était plus libre, moins rigide que celui de Morris.
 
Le folklore était un thème dominant dans de nombreux livres annuels. Nous voyons ici avec certitude l'influence de Pol de Mont (1857-1931), qui joua un rôle important dans l'idéologie de 'De Scalden'. De Mont était un pionnier du folklore et de la réévaluation du patrimoine populaire en Flandre. Pour De Mont, le folklore était plus qu'une simple étude. Elle faisait 'partie intégrante de la conscience éveillée du peuple flamand, elle s'inscrivait dans le cadre de la recherche d'une culture supérieure, à travers une meilleure connaissance des traditions et coutumes flamandes, à travers l'extraction des trésors perdus, la préservation et l'honneur. aime tout ce qui est retourné au passé de la propre tribu'.
 
Edmond van Offel a pris soin des dépenses des livres annuels. Il était l'éditeur, le compilateur et il a également produit beaucoup de travail visuel et de copie. Il était aussi très intéressé par le folklore. Non seulement sous l'influence de Pol de Mont, mais aussi sous l'influence de son père qui avait fait un travail important dans ce domaine. Il avait laissé des dossiers entiers de notes dans lesquels il décrivait l'Anvers de son temps. Edmond Van Offel a édité ces écrits dans le livre 'Père raconte'.
 
Le septième livre annuel concerne les histoires des enfants. Les récits pour enfants se composent de dix histoires pour enfants, dont quatre ont été écrites et illustrées par Edmond van Offel. 'De Scalden' a compté les jeunes à leur public et a voulu leur apporter le meilleur récit pour enfants.
 
Le huitième livre annuel de 1905 apporte des chansons folkloriques anciennes et nouvelles avec une touche nationaliste. La lied 'Houdt u fier' [Restez fier] est illustrée avec un chevalier qui agite un drapeau flamand.
Un Lion Flamand est inclus dans le titre initial 'H'. Ce 'Houdt u fier' est une nouvelle lied composée par le membre de Scalden Lodewijk Mortelmans sur un texte du Pol de Mont, qui a également pris l'initiative de composition de ce livre.
 
Le onzième livre annuel de 1908 est une collection de proverbes flamands. La disposition de ce beau travail est plus serré et suit le style de William Morris. Van Offel compilé et fourni deux illustrations. Le choix des proverbes était déterminé par leur visualisabilité et leurs sources historiques et folkloriques intéressantes.
 
Le seizième et dernier album est paru en 1912, toujours avec une forte tendance folklorique: La maison du peuple et sa décoration, étude folklorique par Victor de Meyere. Victor de Meyere (1873-1938) était l'un des plus importants folkloristes d'Anvers. Dans ce livre annuel, il essaie d'apporter une image de la maison d'un peuple flamand avec tous les attributs et coutumes, afin d'interpréter l'individualité du peuple flamand. En raison de l'éclatement de la Première Guerre mondiale, ce seizième livre annuel était aussi le dernier.
 
Source De Jaarboeken : Tiecelijn, 20, 2007 - pages.7-8
 
Sources : LFM, ADVN, AMVC, Raymond Vervliet, dbnl.org, , Willy Feliers
TOP

 

lfm logo