nederlands
français
english
deutsch

ARTISTIC CIRCLE : DE KAPEL - Antwerp (1899-1906) - The Chapel

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------

De Kapel Falconrui 45‘A new morning full of sunny dreams’.
How 'De Kapel' brought life in cultural landscape op Antwerp
(fragment)

What was it?...
In fact something rare, rather unique. In no way something what the name "de Kapel" could suggest : not a sort of closed society of egocentric dilettants, who continuously would be ready to praise each other to the sky. It was a literary circle, whose door was widely open for anyone attracted with a free spirit of camaraderie, calling you as from his doorstep.
 

FRANS FRANCK

Francois FranckFrans Franck (1872-1932)(Furniture-Antiquities-Decoration)
As a furniture maker and antique dealer, Frans made work of the existing ideals hanging in the air. He took the initiative for De Kapel and thus started a cultural movement, which would last till past the Second World War.
It would be his sole commitment to the Antwerp Cultural World; during his whole life he remains, as meceanas, involved in the management of several official art companies, as example the Antwerp Museum of Fine Arts.
Franck was an 'animator' during his whole life, with an unlimited optimism and an irresistable perseverance, as described by Ary Delen in a tribute-book of Lode Baekelmans.

Frans Franck married Anaïs (Anna)(?-1927), and had two sons, Francis and Louis Jr. Franck. This last one was named after his uncle Louis Franck, and died at the end of the eighties of the last century at the age of 80 years.
He had two older brothers : Louis Franck (1868-1937) and Charles Franck (1870-1935)

HISTORY

In 1899 Frans Franck rented the empty Chapel of the 'godshuis' (House of God) which had been build in 1656 by Cornelis Lantschot close to the harbour of Antwerp (address : Falconrui 45, today nr. 47). He wanted to use it to store all his furniture and carpets, and would pay annually a fee of 300 (belgian) francs. (approx. 7,5 Euro)
The rental contract would go from 28th of July 1899 till 30th of July 1923. Shortly after the closing of the renting, this previous house of God, which after the French Revolution had mainly been used as workshop for scultors, would not be use as warehouse but would serve others.
Inside you could find a buste of "Baudelaire", on the altar stood "Le Beau Dieu" from Amiens, and "Aurore" of Eugène Carrière. Friezes of the Parthenon decorated the sidewalls.
De Kapel was the gathering and reunion place for the circle 'Kring Studie' (Study Circle), and Frans Franck mainly opened it for a wider variety of intellectual and artistic creativity, which started the Kapel-mouvement.
At the end of the 19th century many pupils of the Atheneum of Antwerp gathered here.

De Kapel was a mystic, artistic and socio-philosophic association in Antwerp (on initiative of Frans Franck) with anarchistic inspiration, who will have a profound influence on a whole lot of cultural activities in de first part of the 20st century.
   From "De Kapel" many important art mouvements will emerge :
   - 'Van nu en straks' - circle in the literairy world
   - 'Koninklijke Maatschappij der nieuwe concerten' cercle on initiative of Lodewijk Mortelmans in the musical world
   - 'Kunst van heden' - cercle on initiative of Richard Baseleer in the art of painting

De Kapel Programma 1e Schumann Avond
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
De Kapel :
18.12.1902 - Program of the first Schumann Evening,
given by Lodewijk Mortelmans
 
 

Jef van Overloop (1878-1949), involved as from the first day on activities of De Kapel, later looked back at Francks dynamism with these words :
"In an unstable time [...] grew from a small group of faithfull friends the need "to do something". And something was effectively done, especially because in this group we have Frans Franck, the driving force, the man who created possibilities, not only by making plans, but also by executing these same plans, always available, and generous to support any idea, even if this idea was opposite to his own."

On thursday evenings you could find anarchists of different kind in De kapel, individuals who at the end of the 1900 century in and around Antwerp where claiming artistic and social reforms.

Anarchism (from Greec : an= no, archos = ruler)

Ary DelenAry Delen later wrote down : "we were anarchists, 'flaminganten' and theosophs, idealists and fanatics, titans, unworried and fervent and enthusiast freedomlovers. We were furious and even mercilessly unjust. We praised to the sky and teared down...".
In a commemorary book for Lode Baekelmans Ary Delen described Frans Franck as follow : "Frans was an entertainer whole his life, armed with his indistructable optimism and with an all winning perseverance".
 
 

MEMBERS

The dash of Franck has indeed made many enthousiasts, although the mecenas did not took the initativ to De Kapel on his own. Alongside him stood the furniture maker Jef van Overloop, the painter Richard Baseleer (1867-1951) and the literators Emmanuel de Bom (1868-1953) and Lode Baekelmans (1879-1965)(maried to Alida Resseler, sister of Victor Resseler).

The center of the loyals contained soon also Victor Resseler (1877-1955), Louis Franck (1868-1937)(brother of Frans Franck), and the painter Walter Vaes (1882-1958),
while a few later would join : Charles Franck (1870-1935)(brother of Frans Franck, founder of the Friends of Modern Art and art collector), Joris de Bom (brother of Emmanuel), Jan van Menten, Karel van den Oever, Ary Delen, Jan Eelen, Oscar Six, Jan Madou, Lodewijk Mortelmans and Alfons de Ridder (known as the writer Willem Elsschot).

Most of them were free-thinking or liberal; many before had united themselves in Flemish minded cercles at the Atheneum and in the so-called ‘Antwerp anarchists group’, who gathered irregularly since 1896 at various places – in pubs, coffee houses, painters workshops, at the small bookshop of Jan Madou, etc.

in De Kapel - AMVC
Inside the Chapel
From left to right : Jef Judels, Mrs. Judels-Kamphuyzen, Richard Baseleer and Albert Tijck [Collection AMVC-Letterenhuis]

Previous names such as Lodewijk Mortelmans and Richard Baseleer make clear The Chapel did not only moved on the literary scene.
Around 1903 at the initiave of Lodewijk Mortelmans issued, out of De Kapel, the Royal Society of New Concerts (Koninklijke Maatschappij der Nieuwe Concerten), who made perform great composers, conductors and soloist in the city of Antwerp.

And in 1905 a group of painters separated themselves from The Chapel, and guided by Richard Baseleer, started the cercle Kunst van Heden.

Both cercles evolved from the concerts and exhibitions back then organised back then in De Kapel, and existed respectively until 1937 and 1962. The specific Kapel-activitities would end around 1906.

 

TOP

VAN NU EN STRAKS

The magazine Van nu en straks (1893-1894 and 1896-1901) was founded in Kalmthout (North of Antwerp) in the house of today's owner Dr. Van Peel, Kapellensteenweg 118 at the corner with the Vogelzangstraat.

From the chaotic powerlines in a time full of contradictions the contemporary art ('van Nu' = from now) aims a new synthesis to prepare the new art towards the future ('en Straks' = en tomorrow).

Since quiet some time August Vermeylen dreamed of editing a magazine able to compete in a literary and grafical way with the european modern streamings as they appeared in large foreign and franco-belgian magazines. Why this magazine achieved a european level is seen within the interest from international scientific literature about Art Nouveau in which the magazine often is quoted and discussed, next to other magazines such as Le Mercure de France, La Revue Blanche, Pan, Jugend, Ver Sacrum.

She contributed to the renewel and revival of the Flemish literature. There are ressemblances with De Nieuwe Gids, but Van Nu en Straks rejected the 'art for art'. The ideal art is a way of life who rises the individual poignancy at a general scale, a community art. A synthetic vision of life (the whole person) stood in the sign of neo-romantism. They would be an avant-garde organ without esthetic dogma. They turned themselves against realism and naturalism, because they believed it too superficial.

The first series (1893-1894) of documents were mainly dedicated to literature and visual art. The editors were Cyriel Buysse, Emmanuel de Bom, Prosper van Langendonck and August Vermeylen.
Henry Vandevelde took care of the typography and the illustrations came from Maurits Bauer, Henry de Groux, A. J. Derkinderen, G.W. Dijsselhof, James Ensor, Willy Finch, Marg. Holeman, Roland Holst, G. Lemmen, X. Mellery, G. Meunier, G. Minne, Thorn-Prikker, Jan Toorop, Henry van de Velde, Vincent van Gogh, Théo van Rysselberghe, Jan Veth.
Henry van de Velde, living in Kalmthout, knew these artists through the exhibitions from Le Cercle des XX in Brussels and from the Association pour l'Art in Antwerp.
The printing was done by J.-E. Buschmann in Antwerp on a handpress. The grafical design in the second series was again consigned to Henry van de Velde.
Also appeared documents of Hugo Verriest and Guido Gezelle.

The magazine Van Nu en Straks was the spokesperson of the avant-garde in the Flemish Fin de siècle of the nineteenth century. It introduced an intellectual art opinion, based on anarchism, symbolism and Art Nouveau. Prosper van Langendonck was the stranger. He was accepted by the other 'nineties', although as a fervent catholic he was no adherent to anarchism.
After a while this anarchism dropped, or evolved towards a more humane socialism as did for August Vermeylen.
In the second period joined a new believer Karel van de Woestijne. Also Stijn Streuvels collaborated and Herman Teirlinck made his debut.

The editors tried to join french artistic cercles, such as The XX and La Libre Esthétique and also to formulate a flemish answer towards the new sounds from the Netherlands, in an attempt not to go provincial but international.
With Van Nu en Straks it was important that literature showed 'higher aspects' of life.
In Flandern Van Nu en Straks realised in only ten years time a real revolution in flemish culture and acted as a catalysor for the liberal and catholic papers that were created, renewed or revived in that time.
After a long period, the flemish literature catched up around the turn of the nineteenth century and had finally found his magazine who was no longer inferior to these of the Netherlands.
In 1996 the magazine was re-established.

In 1901 most of the animo of the editors towards anarchism had gone. On top of that a difference in view regarding the publication of Wellust from Jacques Mesnil (pseudonym of Jacques Dwelshauvers) marked the end of the magazine.

TOP

ALVOORDER

The magazine Alvoorder appeared in Flanders in 1900 and 1901. It was founded on the initiative of Willem Elsschot and was bi-montly. The magazine was rather progressive, lightly anarchistic. Amongst the editors we read the names of Herman Teirlinck and Lode Baekelmans.

De Alvoorder - AMVC
The 'Alvoorders' in the midst of nature.
From left to right: Karel van den Oever, Reimond Speleers, Constant van den Oever, Leo J. Kryn, Rosseels, Jan Eelen, Lode Baekelmans and Jef Beuckeleers [Collection AMVC-Letterenhuis]

ONTWAKENING - AWAKENING

The artistic cercle of De Kapel marked the beginning of a moving century of art and culture in the city of Antwerp. The magazine Ontwaking, was established in 1896 (continued 1902-1909) by the later brothers-in-law Victor Resseler and Lode Baekelmans, and carried the germs of an artistic revival. Printer and editor of the periodic was Victor Resseler, who at that time was the energetic chairman of a militant flemish circle in which pupils of the atheneum were united. Lode Baekelmans was one of the leading figures of this little group of literature lovers, who started Voor Elck wat Wils.

sources : amongst others LFM, Stijn Vanclooster, KVNS
TOP

lfm logo

nederlands
français
english
deutsch

CERCLE ARTISTIQUE : DE KAPEL - Anvers (1899-1906) - La Chapelle

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------

De Kapel Falconrui 45‘Une nouvelle matinée pleine de rêves ensoleilés’.
Comment De Kapel apporta la vie dans le paysage culturel d'Anvers
(fragment)

Qu'était-ce?...
Au fait, quelque chose de très particulier, voir même unique. En tout les cas, ce n'est pas ce que le nom "de Kapel" pourrait faire présumer : ce n'était pas un cercle fermé de dillétants égocentriques, toujours prêt à encenser quelqu'un. C'était plutôt un cercle litéraire, avec la porte était grande ouverte pour chacun, attiré par un esprit libre de camaraderie, et dont l'envie vous attiraît dès le seuil de sa porte.
 

FRANCOIS FRANCK

Francois FranckFrançois Franck (1872-1932)(Ameublement-Antiquités-Décoration)
Fabricant de meubles et antiquair, communément appelé Frans, s'affairait des idéaux qui fûrent dans l'air. Il prenait l'initiative pour 'De Kapel' et commença ainsi un mouvement, qui culturellement parlant ira jusqu'à la deuxième guerre mondiale.
Ce ne sera pas son seul engagement dans le monde culturel anversois; toute sa vie d'ailleurs, il s'est investit en tant que mécène à travers divers instances artistiques officielles, parmi le Musée des Beaux-Arts à Anvers.
Franck sera toute sa vie 'un animateur animé d'un optimisme indestructible et doté d'une perséverance de gagnant'; c'est ainsi que Ary Delen le décrivait dans le livre en hommage à Lode Baekelmans.

François Franck, marié à Anaïs (Anna)(?-1927) avait deux fils, Francis et Louis Jr. Franck. Ce dernier fût nommé après son oncle Louis Franck, et décède à la fin des années quatre-vingts du dernier siècle à l'age de 80 ans.
Il était le cadet avec deux frères : Louis Franck (1868-1937) et Charles Franck (1870-1935)

HISTORIQUE

En 1899 François Franck louait une chapelle inoccupée de la maison dieu que Cornelis Lantschot avait fait construire en 1656 près du port d'Anvers (adresse : Falconrui 45, aujourd'hui nr. 47). Il voulait l'utiliser comme entrepôt pour meubles et tapis et devait pour ce, payer une somme annuelle de 300 francs (belges). (approx. 7,5 Euro)
Le contrat de location allant du 28 juillet 1899 jusqu'au 30 juillet 1923. Peu de temps après clôture, l'ancienne maison de prière, qui servait après la Révolution Française comme atelier pour sculpteurs, recevait une nouvelle destination.
A l'intérieur ont y trouvait un buste de "Baudelaire", sur l'autel il y avait "Le Beau Dieu" de Amiens, et "Aurore" de Eugène Carrière. Les frises, provenant du Parthenon, décoraient les parois.
De Kapel devint au fait le lieu de rencontre pour la Kring Studie (Cercle Etude), et surtout, Franck l'ouvrait à une créativité intellectuelle et artistique multiple, ce qui en faisait la naissance du mouvement de De Kapel.
A la fin du 19ième siècle ce fût un lieu de rencontre pour plusieurs lycéens de l'Athenée d'Anvers.

De Kapel était un mouvement mystique, artistique et socio-philosophique à Anvers (sur initiative de François Franck) et à caractère anarchique, qui aura une profonde influence sur un large nombre d'activités culturelles dans la première partie du 20ième siècle.
   Des mouvements d'art importantes émergeront de "De Kapel" :
   - 'Van nu en straks' - cercle dans le monde litéraire
   - 'Koninklijke Maatschappij der nieuwe concerten' - cercle sur initiative de Lodewijk Mortelmans dans le monde musical
   - 'Kunst van heden' - cercle sur initiative de Richard Baseleer dans l'art de la peinture

De Kapel Programma 1e Schumann Avond
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
De Kapel :
18.12.1902 - Programme de la première Soirée Schumann,
donné par Lodewijk Mortelmans
 
 

Jef van Overloop (1878-1949), impliqué dès la première heure dans les événements de 'De Kapel', se rappèle plus tard du dynamisme de François Franck :
"Dans une période instable [...] naissait auprès d'un petit groupe de loyaux amis, l'envie "de faire quelque chose". Et quelque chose fût éffectivement fait, surtout parce que dans ce groupe il y avait François Franck, l'animateur, l'homme qui créa des possibilités, qui ne se limitait pas à dresser des plans, mais les éxecutait aussi, qui était toujours présent, bien-faiteur envers chaque aspiration, même si parfois ça irait à l'encontre de son propre point de vue."

Le jeudi soir on y trouvait des anarchistes de divers plumage, des individus qui à Anvers à la fin de 19ième siècle s'étaient engagés envers une réforme artistique et sociale.

Anarchisme (originaire du Grec an= pas, archos = souverain)

Ary DelenAry Delen notait plus tard: "nous étions des anarchistes, flamingants et théosofes, idéalistes et fanatiques, appelé à refaire le monde, insouciant et enthousiaste et fervent amoureux de liberté. Nous étions furieux et impitoyablement injuste même. Nous vantions et détruisions...".
Dans un livre de commémoration pour Lode Baekelmans Ary Delen décrivait François Franck comme suit : 'Frans fût toute sa vie un animator armé d'un optimisme indestructible et d'une perséverance surmontant tout'.
 
 

MEMBRES

Le dynamisme de Franck a réellement enthousiasmé plusieurs, mais le mécène n'était pas seul à prendre l'initiative pour 'De Kapel'. A ses côtés fûrent aussi le fabricant de meubles Jef van Overloop, le peintre Richard Baseleer (1867-1951) et les litéraires Emmanuel de Bom (1868-1953) et Lode Baekelmans (1879-1965)(marié à Alida Resseler, soeur de Victor Resseler).

Fûrent rapidement part du noyau ferme de fidèles :
Victor Resseler (1877-1955), Louis Franck (1868-1937)(frère de François Franck), et le peintre Walter Vaes (1882-1958),
alors que peu après se joignent : Charles Franck (1870-1935)(frère de François Franck, fondateur des Amis de l'Art Moderne et collectionneur), Joris de Bom (frère de Emmanuel De Bom), Jan van Menten, Karel van den Oever, Ary Delen, Jan Eelen, Oscar Six, Jan Madou, Lodewijk Mortelmans et Alfons de Ridder (écrivain connu sous le nom de Willem Elsschot).

La plupart d'entre eux fûrent des libéraux; beaucoup s'étaient réunis bien avant dans des cercles flamands à l'athenée et dans les soi-disants 'groupes anarchistes anversois', et qui en 1896 se retrouvaient déjà régulièrement en divers endroits - dans des cafés, maisons de café, ateliers de peintres, la librairie de Jan Madou, etc..

in De Kapel - AMVC
A l'intérieure 'De Kapel'
de gauche à droite : Jef Judels, Mme. Judels-Kamphuyzen, Richard Baseleer et Albert Tijck [Collection AMVC-Letterenhuis]

Les noms, citées ci-dessus, comme Lodewijk Mortelmans et Richard Baseleer, nous indiquent clairement que De Kapel se manifestait aussi dans d'autres domaines que le monde litéraire.
S'ensuivit vers 1903, sur initiative de Lodewijk Mortelmans, la naissance de la Société Royale des Nouveaux Concerts (Koninklijke Maatschappij der Nieuwe Concerten), qui réussit à faire produire des compositeurs, conducteurs et solistes de grande rénommé dans la ville d'Anvers.

En 1905, un groupe de peintres se distanciait de De Kapel, et guidé par Richard Baseleer formaient le cercle Kunst van Heden.

Les deux cercles, résultant des concerts et expositions organisés dans De Kapel, se maintiendraient respectivement jusqu'en 1937 et 1962. Les activités spécifiques de De Kapel se terminèrent vers 1906.

 

TOP

VAN NU EN STRAKS

Le magazine Van nu en straks (1893-1894 et 1896-1901) fût érigée à Kalmthout (au Nord d'Anvers) dans la maison, actuellement habité par Dr. Van Peel, Kapellensteenweg 118 sur le coin avec la Vogelzangstraat.

Des lignes de forces chaotiques d'une période pleine de contradictions, l'art contemporain ('van Nu' = d'aujourd'hui) tendait vers une synthèse qui devait préparer le nouvel Art du futur ('en Straks' = et de demain).

Depuis longtemps August Vermeylen rêvait d'éditer un magazine qui autant sur le plan litéraire que grafique joindrait les tendances européennes et modernistes, comme déjà vu dans les magazines étrangères et Franco-Belges. Que ce magazine atteignit un niveau européen, paraît dans l'interêt qu'évoquait le magazine à l'étranger et paraît encore dans la litérature scientifique internationale sur l'Art Nouveau dans laquelle le magazine fût souvent mentionné et régulièrement éclairé à côté de magazines tels que Le Mercure de France, La Revue Blanche, Pan, Jugend, Ver Sacrum.

Elle contribuait au renouvellement et la renaissance de la Litérature Flamande. Il y a des ressemblances avec De Nieuwe Gids, mais Van Nu en Straks rejetta l'art pour l'art. L'art idéale est un mode de vie qui soulève l'émotion individuelle à un niveau général. Une vision de la vie synthétique (de l'homme au complet) sous le signe du neo-romantisme. Ils voulaient un organe d'avant-garde sans dogme esthétique. Ils se retournaient contre le réalisme et le naturalisme, parce que jugé trop superficiel.

La première série d'écritures (1893-1894) était entièrement dédié à la litérature et les Beaux-Arts. Auprès de la rédaction, ont comptait Cyriel Buysse, Emmanuel de Bom, Prosper van Langendonck et August Vermeylen. Henry Vandevelde s'occupait de la typographie et les illustrations venaient de Maurits Bauer, Henry de Groux, A. J. Derkinderen, G.W. Dijsselhof, James Ensor, Willy Finch, Marg. Holeman, Roland Holst, G. Lemmen, X. Mellery, G. Meunier, G. Minne, Thorn-Prikker, Jan Toorop, Henry van de Velde, Vincent van Gogh, Théo van Rysselberghe, Jan Veth.
Henry van de Velde, habitant à Kalmthout, connaissait ces artistes via les expositions du Cercle des XX à Bruxelles et de l'Association pour l'Art à Anvers. L'impression fût réalisé chez J.-E. Buschmann à Anvers sur une presse manuelle. Autant pour la deuxiè.me série, le graphisme fût confié à Henry van de Velde.
Puis, il y eu aussi des parutions d'écritures de Hugo Verriest et Guido Gezelle.

Le magazine Van Nu en Straks était le porte-parole de l'avant-garde dans le fin de siècle flamand du dix-neufième siècle. Elle introduisait une opinion intéllectuelle de l'art, basée sur l'anarchisme, le symbolisme et l'Art Nouveau. Prosper van Langendonck était l'étranger. Il fût accepté par les autres 'nonantes', mais en tant que fervent catholique, n'était pas un partisan de l'anarchisme.
Après un certain temps l'anarchisme s'affaiblissait d'ailleurs, où évoluait vers un humanisme social comme ce fût le cas pour August Vermeylen. Dans un deuxième temps, un autre croyant Karel van de Woestijne adhérait. Même Stijn Streuvels apporta son aide et Herman Teirlinck put y débuter.

La rédaction cherchait à s'affilier auprès de cercles artistiques francophones, comme Les XX et La Libre Esthétique et essayait de formuler une réponse flamande aux réformes venant des Pays-Bas avec l'intention de s'engager une voie internationale, et non provenciale.
Il importait pour Van Nu en Straks que la litérature représente les 'facettes importantes' de la vie.
En Flandres, le magazine Van Nu en Straks apportait en moins de dix ans un réel changement dans la culture flamande et faisait fonction de catalyseur pour les magazines libéraux et catholiques, et qui fûrent en ce temps érigé, renouvelé ou re-fondé.
Vers la fin du siècle, et après être resté une longue période à l'arrière-plan, la litérature flamande avait enfin trouvé son propre magazine qui allait de pair avec ceux des Pays-Bas.
En 1996 le magazine renaissait.

En 1901, l'entrain de la plupart des membres de la rédaction envers l'anarchisme avait disparu. De plus, une divergence envers la publication de Wellust de Jacques Mesnil (pseudonyme pour Jacques Dwelshauvers) annonçait la fin du magazine.

TOP

ALVOORDER

Le magazine Alvoorder parût en Flandres en 1900 et en 1901. Il fût érigé sur initiative de Willem Elsschot et était bi-mensuel. Le magazine avait un impact légèrement progressif, anarchiste. Parmi les rédacteurs ont retrouvait Herman Teirlinck et Lode Baekelmans.

De Alvoorder - AMVC
Les 'Alvoorders' en pleine nature.
de gauche à droite: Karel van den Oever, Reimond Speleers, Constant van den Oever, Leo J. Kryn, Rosseels, Jan Eelen, Lode Baekelmans et Jef Beuckeleers [Collection AMVC-Letterenhuis]

ONTWAKENING - ÉVEIL

Le mouvement artistique de De Kapel marquait le début d'un siècle mouvementé d'art et de culture à Anvers. Le magazine Ontwaking, en 1896 (et continué 1902-1909) mis sur pied par les futurs beau-frères Victor Resseler et Lode Baekelmans, tenait les germes d'un réveil artistique. Victor Resseler était l'imprimeur et l'éditeur du périodique. En même temps, il était le président dynamique d'un cercle flamand militant, et ou les élèves de l'athenée se réunissaient. Lode Baekelmans était l'une des figures importantes d'un petit groupe d'amateurs de litérature, et qui fût baptisé Voor Elck wat Wils.

Sources : parmi lesquels LFM, Stijn Vanclooster, KVNS
TOP

lfm logo