NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Authors

 
TOP

Norbert Hostyn

Norbert Hostyn°1951 in Ostend
Licentiate in History of Art (University KUL Leuven, 1974)
Former Curator of the Museum of Fine Arts in Ostend   (till 2008)
Former Curator Mu.ZEE Ostend   (from 2008 till his retirment in 2014)
Author of many books
 
 

Museum of Fine Arts - Ostend

The Museum of Fine Arts (MSK) was a museum in the belgian seaside city of Ostend.
It existed from 1893 till 2008 as a city museum.
 
1980-2008: period Norbert Hostyn
Norbert Hostyn followed Edebau in 1980 as principal of the museum.
He bases his policy on some options proper to the city and its museum collections: narrowing the policy spectrum and strenghtening de collections of Ensor and Spilliaert and adding it with other belgian artist comtempories.
While it regarded a city museum continuous efforts were made to purchase also artworks to illustrate the local artistic life.
The arrival of the PMMK to Ostend in december 1986 offered the possibility for both musea to become complementary (Belgian art from romantism till post-impressionism in the MFA; expressionism till the newest tendencies in the PMMK).
This implicated longterm loans of a number of topworks from the MFA towards the PMMK. As from 1980 plans followed for a relocation of the MFA in Ostend. Therefor little was invested for maintenance of the existing building.
 
Closure in 2005
In februari 2005 the MFA closed its doors with the prospect of a rather quick reopening in the previous post office in the Hendrik Serruyslaan. In juni 2005 started a partial demolishing of the Feast and Culture palace. Already in april 2007 a shopping mall opened on this location.

PMMK + MSKO = Mu.ZEE Ostend

Muzee OostendeAfter the closure the city council finally abandonned the plans for a new Museum of Fine Arts in the old post office and decided in 2008 in consideration with the province of west flandern to a kind of merge between two existing art musea in the city: the MFA Ostend and the PMMK of the province of west flanders. This way the Art Museum at the Sea or shortly Mu.ZEE in Ostend had its origin. Withing the Mu.ZEE a study cell was founded specifically for the life and work of James Ensor in the context of his time. Norbert Hostyn, former curator of the gone MFA of Ostend conducted this study center. The Ensorhouse in Ostend and the Province Museum Constant Permeke in Jabbeke are two 'satellite musea' of Mu.ZEE. The opening of the new Mu.ZEE in the buildings of the PMMK located at the Romestraat, was held in the spring of 2009.
 

Bibliography :

1893-1993: 100 Jaar Museum voor Schone Kunsten in Oostende, 1993
 
Museum voor Schone Kunsten Oostende:
Leon Spilliaert - Catalogus van de verzameling
, Oostende 1990
 
Museum voor Schone Kunsten Oostende:
Catalogus beeldhouwwerken, assemblages en ceramiek
, Oostende 1989
 
James Ensor:
De verzameling van het Museum voor Schone Kunsten Oostende
, Gent (Ludion), 1999
 
Belgische Stilleven & Bloemenschilderkunst 1750-1914Belgische Stilleven & Bloemenschilderkunst 1750-1914
(Belgian Stilllifes & Flower Paintings)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Frans Mortelmans 2009 Virtuoos BloemschilderFrans Mortelmans 1865-1936: Virtuoos Bloemschilder, 2009
 

 

 

TOP

Prof. Dr. Guido Persoons, Doctor in musicology

Guido PersoonsGuido Persoons° 08.04.1931, Borgerhout - † 21.02.2014, Weert Bornem
 
Guido Persoons was the son of the Antwerp conductor, composer and music teacher Gust Persoons. His mother, Nora Schiltz, was also a talented musician and came from a family where everything was about art and culture. It was no coincidence that the young Guido, after his humanitarian studies at the Sint-Stanislascollege in Berchem, despite unsuccessful attempts by his parents to let him choose a "serious" university education with a view of job security, stubbornly persevered and joined the Leuven University enrolled for musicology, a course that he would later combine with art history.
 
After a few assignments in the graphics sector and as reservist in the Belgian Navy, he was appointed in 1962 as a scientific librarian at the National Higher Institute and Royal Academy for Fine Arts and the National Higher Institute for Architecture and Urbanism in Antwerp. From this position, which he held until 1995, he devoted himself to the expansion and professionalization of the library's offering and the scientific inventory of the collection, including the precious Sint-Lucas archive. In addition, he had been inextricably linked to the ins and outs of the Academy all these years, not least because of the organization of countless exhibitions around the history of this institution and its professors, for which he invariably wrote the catalogs, which usually also evolved into profound scientific research. monographs. Worth mentioning in this respect is the special catalog about 100 years of the National Higher Institute for Fine Arts that came out of his hand in 1985. From the Academy he also had frequent contacts with academic libraries, museums and art academies throughout Europe.
 
Orgels en OrganistenIn 1968, Guido Persoons obtained his doctorate on a doctoral thesis on The Organs and Organists of the Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekerk in Antwerp 1500-1650. This gave the start for a fascinating academic career at KU Leuven. As a teacher at the musicology department, he held courses in music sociology and music and mass media, as well as the specific teacher training program for musicologists, until his retirement in 1996.
With his many publications on musical instrument making, music printing, composers and visual artists, he emphatically strove for documenting cultural life in Belgium for later generations, with a focus on Antwerp. He was also editor-in-chief of the jubilee book at the centenary of the Royal Flemish Conservatory in 1998.
 
This same predilection for the preservation of our artistic heritage is also reflected in his active involvement in the Royal and Provincial Commission for Monuments and Landscapes and in his actual commitment as a board member in a wide range of scientific and cultural associations where he was active for many years as a board member, in progress from the Association of Antwerp Bibliophiles, the Art History Institute of Antwerp to the Royal Society for Music History. He had a special bond with the Royal Society for the Promotion of Fine Arts. From 1996 onwards he would continue to hold the position of chairman with great enthusiasm until his death.
 
 
source : www.komask.be

Bibliography:

Franck Mortelmans, pastel painter & draftsman
Franck MortelmansIn cooperation with Melanie Mortelmans-Diris, Leo Wuyts and Alain Germoz
Monography on the occasion of his 100th birthday commemoration and on the occasion of his Eeuwfeest-Retrospective at the Provinciaal Centrum Arenberg
ISBN 90-9012046-7D 1998/8380/1
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons - 1981
 
 
 
De orgels en de organisten van de Onze Lieve Vrouwkerk te Antwerpen van 1500 tot 1650
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Paul Verbraeken, Willem van de Velde, Herwig Todts, Piet Lombaerde..
 
Linnig : een Antwerpse kunstenaarsdynastie in de 19de eeuw - 1991
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Jean F Buyck, Greet Bedeer, Nationaal Hoger Instituut en KMSKA - 1976
 
Schone Kunsten in Antwerpen : de Koninklijke Vereniging tot Aanmoediging der Schone Kunsten te Antwerpen, sinds 1788
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons - 1989
 
XXII Jaar Beeldhouwen aan de Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten te Antwerpen
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Johannes Sambucus, Leon Voet - 1980-1982
 
Emblemata - Serie De Gulden Passer
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Roger Avermate, ... 1968
 
Miscellanea Jozef Duverger : bijdragen tot de kunstgeschiedenis der Nederlanden
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Hendrik Dierickx - 1985
 
Schilder- en beeldhouwkunst in Vlaanderen na 1945
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Nationaal Hoger Instituut voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen - 1984
Jozef Vinck : kunstschilder, professor
 
Jos Hendrickx : tekenaar van figuur en glasraam : professor NHISK Antwerpen
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons - Nicaise De Keyser - 1987
 
Frans Mortelmans (1865-1936) : bloemen, stillevens, marines in olie en aquarel
Frans MortelmansProf. Dr. G. Persoons, Nationaal Hoger Instituut en KMSKA - 1992
Paul Huvenne, Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen
Editor : Foundation Lodewijk Mortelmans vzw, 2002
 
 

 

TOP
LFM

NL  -  FR  -  EN  -  DE

Auteurs

 
TOP

Norbert Hostyn

Norbert Hostyn°1951 à Ostende
Licencié en Histoire d'Art (Université KUL à Louvain, 1974)
Ancien Conservateur Musée des Beaux Arts Oostende   (jusqu'en 2008)
Ancien Conservateur Muzee Oostende   (de 2008 jusqu'à sa mise en pension en 2014)
Auteur de divers livres
 
 

Musée des Beaux-Arts - Ostende

Le Musée des Beaux-Arts (MBA) était un musée dans la cité balnéaire belge d'Ostende, et existait de 1893 à 2008 comme musée de la ville.
 
1980-2008: période Norbert Hostyn
Norbert Hostyn suivait Edebau en 1980 à la tête du musée.
Il possait sa stratégie sur quelques options propre à la ville et à sa collection du musée : réduire le spectre de la stratégie et renforcer les collections de Ensor et Spilliaert et compléter avec d'autres artistes contemporains belges.
Vu qu'il s'agit d'un musée de ville ils œuvraient continuellement à acheter des œuvres afin d'illustrer la vie artistique locale.
La venue du PMMK vers Ostende en décembre 1986 donnait la possibilité aux deux musées d'être complémentaire (L'art Belge du romantisme au post-impressionisme pour le MBA; l'expressionisme jusqu'aux dernières nouvelles tendances pour la PMMK).
Ceci conduit à prêter à longue échéance un nombre de chefs-d'œuvres du MBA vers la PMMK. Dès 1980 les plans de relocalisation pour le MBA se suivaient. Ainsi peu d'investissements de maintenance se firent pour le bâtiment existant.
 
Fermeture en 2005
En février 2005 les portes du MBA se fermaient, avec une perspective d'une ré-ouverture relativement rapide dans le bâtiment de l'ancienne poste à la Hendrik Serruyslaan. En juin 2005 commença la démolition partielle du Palais de Fête et de Culture. Dès avril 2007 s'y ouvrait un centre commercial.

PMMK + MSKO = Mu.ZEE Oostende

Muzee OostendeAprès la fermeture, l'administation de la ville renonçaient aux plans d'un nouveau MBA dans l'ancienne poste et décidèrent en 2008 en consultation avec la province de la Flandre occidentale pour une sorte de fusion entre le Musée des Beaux-Arts et la PMMK. Le musée d'art à la Mer ou abrégé Mu.ZEE à Ostende naissait en 2008 suite à une 'fusion' entre les deux musées d'art existants dans la ville: le Musée des Beaux-Arts d'Ostende et la PMMK de la province de la flandre occidentale. Avec l'arrivée du Mu.Zee, une cellule d'étude fût érigée spécifiquement sur la vie et l'ćuvre de James Ensor dans le contexte de son temps. Norbert Hostyn, ancien conservateur de l'ancienne MBA d'Ostende conduit cette cellule d'étude. La maison Ensor à Ostende et le Musée procincial Constant Permeke à Jabbeke sont deux 'musées satellite' du Mu.Zee.L'ouverture du nouveau Mu.ZEE dans les bâtiments de la PMMK dans la Romestraat, était prévu au printemps de 2009.

Bibliographie :

1893-1993: 100 Jaar Museum voor Schone Kunsten in Oostende, 1993
 
Museum voor Schone Kunsten Oostende:
Leon Spilliaert - Catalogus van de verzameling
, Oostende 1990
 
Museum voor Schone Kunsten Oostende:
Catalogus beeldhouwwerken, assemblages en ceramiek
, Oostende 1989
 
James Ensor:
De verzameling van het Museum voor Schone Kunsten Oostende
, Gent (Ludion), 1999
 
Belgische Stilleven & Bloemenschilderkunst 1750-1914Belgische Stilleven & Bloemenschilderkunst 1750-1914
(Belgian Stilllifes & Flower Paintings)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Frans Mortelmans 2009 Virtuoos BloemschilderFrans Mortelmans 1865-1936: Virtuoos Bloemschilder, 2009
 

 

 

TOP

Prof. Dr. Guido Persoons, Docteur en musicologie

Guido PersoonsGuido Persoons° 08.04.1931, Borgerhout - † 21.02.2014, Weert Bornem
Guido Persoons était le fils du chef d'orchestre, compositeur et professeur de musique anversois Gust Persoons. Sa mère, Nora Schiltz, était aussi une musicienne talentueuse issue d'une famille où tout était question d'art et de culture. Ce n'est pas une coïncidence si le jeune Guido, après ses études humanitaires au lycée Saint-Stanislas de Berchem, malgré les tentatives infructueuses de ses parents pour lui permettre de choisir une éducation universitaire 'sérieuse' en vue de la sécurité d'emploi, persiste obstinément L'université de Louvain s'est inscrite à la musicologie, un cours qu'il combinera plus tard avec l'histoire de l'art.
 
Après plusieurs missions, y compris les arts graphiques et en tant que réserviste dans la Marine belge, il a été nommé en 1962 comme bibliothécaire de recherche à l'Institut national et de l'Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts et l'Institut National Supérieur d'Architecture et Urbanisme d'Anvers. De cette position, qu'il pratique jusqu'en 1995, il a été engagé à l'expansion et à la professionnalisation des offres de la bibliothèque et de l'inventaire scientifique de la collection, y compris les précieux Archives Saint-Luc. Il a été toutes ces années inséparablement liée au fonctionnement de l'Académie, notamment en organisant de nombreuses expositions sur l'histoire de cette institution et sa faculté, dont il invariablement catalogues généralement écrit également augmenté à scientifique approfondie monographies. Il convient de mentionner à cet égard le catalogue spécial sur les 100 ans de l'Institut National Supérieur des Beaux-Arts qui est sorti de sa main en 1985. De l'Académie, il a également eu des contacts fréquents avec des bibliothèques universitaires, des musées et des académies d'art à travers l'Europe.
 
Orgels en OrganistenEn 1968, Guido Persoons a obtenu son doctorat sur une thèse de doctorat sur les orgues et les organistes de l'Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekerk à Anvers 1500-1650. Ce fut le début d'une carrière académique fascinante au KU Leuven. En tant qu'enseignant au département de musicologie, il a suivi des cours de sociologie de la musique, de musique et de médias, ainsi que le programme spécifique de formation des enseignants pour les musicologues, jusqu'à sa retraite en 1996.
Avec ses nombreuses publications sur la fabrication d'instruments de musique, l'impression de musique, les compositeurs et les artistes visuels, il s'est efforcé de documenter la vie culturelle en Belgique pour les générations futures, en mettant l'accent sur Anvers. Il a également été rédacteur en chef du livre du jubilé lors du centenaire du Conservatoire Royal Flamand en 1998.
 
Cette mê me prédilection pour la préservation de notre patrimoine artistique se reflète également dans sa participation active à la Commission Royale et Provinciale des Monuments et Paysages et dans son engagement concret en tant que membre d'un grand nombre d'associations scientifiques et culturelles où il a siégé pendant de nombreuses années, allant de l'Association des bibliophiles d'Anvers, de l'Institut d'histoire de l'art d'Anvers à la Société Royale d'Histoire de la Musique. Il avait un lien spécial avec la Société Royale pour la Promotion des Beaux-Arts. À partir de 1996, il continuera à occuper le poste de président avec beaucoup d'enthousiasme jusqu'à sa mort.
 
 
source : www.komask.be

Bibliographie:

Franck Mortelmans, pastelliste & dessinateur
Franck MortelmansEn collaboration avec Melanie Mortelmans-Diris, Leo Wuyts et Alain Germoz
Monographie à l'occasion du centième anniversaire de sa naissance et à l'occasion de sa Eeuwfeest-Retrospective dans le Provinciaal Centrum Arenberg Anvers
ISBN 90-9012046-7D 1998/8380/1
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons - 1981
 
 
 
De orgels en de organisten van de Onze Lieve Vrouwkerk te Antwerpen van 1500 tot 1650
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Paul Verbraeken, Willem van de Velde, Herwig Todts, Piet Lombaerde..
 
Linnig : een Antwerpse kunstenaarsdynastie in de 19de eeuw - 1991
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Jean F Buyck, Greet Bedeer, Nationaal Hoger Instituut en KMSKA - 1976
 
Schone Kunsten in Antwerpen : de Koninklijke Vereniging tot Aanmoediging der Schone Kunsten te Antwerpen, sinds 1788
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons - 1989
 
XXII Jaar Beeldhouwen aan de Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten te Antwerpen
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Johannes Sambucus, Leon Voet - 1980-1982
 
Emblemata - Serie De Gulden Passer
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Roger Avermate, ... 1968
 
Miscellanea Jozef Duverger : bijdragen tot de kunstgeschiedenis der Nederlanden
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Hendrik Dierickx - 1985
 
Schilder- en beeldhouwkunst in Vlaanderen na 1945
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons, Nationaal Hoger Instituut voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen - 1984
Jozef Vinck : kunstschilder, professor
 
Jos Hendrickx : tekenaar van figuur en glasraam : professor NHISK Antwerpen
Prof. Dr. G. Persoons - Nicaise De Keyser - 1987
 
Frans Mortelmans (1865-1936) : bloemen, stillevens, marines in olie en aquarel
Frans MortelmansProf. Dr. G. Persoons, Nationaal Hoger Instituut en KMSKA - 1992
Paul Huvenne, Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen
Editeur : Fondation Lodewijk Mortelmans vzw, 2002
 
 

 

TOP
LFM