nederlands
français
english
deutsch

Lodewijk Mortelmans 1868-1952

--------------------------------------------------------------------------


The Foundation aims to uniform the choice of music titles

    nederlands francais english deutsch    List of titles with their translation in Dutch, in French, in English and in German.

 

Uniform titel use for the Lied " Het Wielewaalt en leeuwerkt "

nederlands Nederlands :  - Het Wielewaalt en leeuwerkt

francais French :          - Le Loriot et l'Alouette

english English :          - The Oriole and the Lark

deutsch German :       - Es pirolt und es lerchet

        * Contact our Foundation when choosing a title in a different language

 

Additional explaination :

The flemish title refers towards the Oriole and the Lark. Birds whom Lodewijk Mortelmans heard singing many times during his countless wanderings, North of Antwerp, at 'the Kalmthoutse Heide' and around the town of 'Huibergen', and East of Antwerp, in the 'Waasland' and around the town of 'Waasmunster'.

It is the behaviour and the singing of these birds, who inspired him and made him compose this beautiful work for piano.

The english title "Like a Singing Bird" or the french title "Les oiseaux qui chantent" only refer to the song of "a bird", without specifying which bird exactly is meant.

For proper understanding and evaluation of this work it is of essential importance to know to which birds Lodewijk Mortelmans refers.

* First the Oriole (Oriolus oriolus)
Oriolus oriolusis a fascinating bird. His feathers are one of the most beautiful of the birds breading in Flanders: black wings, black tail with yellow dots, his body is strong yellow and a red beak. He's really hard to spot because hiding between the thick leafs of parktrees, gardens, alleys and forestborders. And then we have his singing. It's not a long phrase as the Oriole, as the european robin, or the mocking bird. It's a rather short, loud, soundy whistle which sounds a bit like "wiela - wieo" containing some variations. The sound of his voice is to be compared with a hobo.
 
 

* Next: the Lark. Here we talk in fact about two different birds: the Skylark and the Woodlark. Their feathers are browny, hardly noticable.

* The Skylark (Alauda arvensis)
Alauda arvensisflies slowly steep into height until we only notice a small dot, stays there a long time hanging and comes down sailing back to the ground. In the maintime he uninterruptly sings a clear, jubilating and thrilling song which sounds as a continuous repeated "tirlie".
 
 

* The Woodlark (Lullula arborea)
Lullula arboreasails in bat-like flight outline in wide spirals upwards, stays high in the air for a long time hanging and falls down with closed wings. His song is less long hold than of the Skylark but more melodic and mixed with a fluid, thrilling lu-lu-lu-lu (latin name "Lullula").
 

lfm logo

nederlands
français
english
deutsch

Lodewijk Mortelmans 1868-1952

--------------------------------------------------------------------------


La Fondation vise à uniformiser l'utilisation des titres musicaux

    nederlands francais english deutsch    Liste des titres traduit en Néerlandais, en Français, en Anglais et en Allemand.

 

Choix uniforme du titre pour la Lied  "Het Wielewaalt en leeuwerkt"

nederlands Nederlands :  - Het Wielewaalt en leeuwerkt

francais Français :       - Le Loriot et l'Alouette

english Anglais :         - The Oriole and the Lark

deutsch Allemand :      - Es pirolt und es lerchet

        * Contactez notre Fondation lors de votre choix de titres dans une autre langue

 

Un petit mot d'explication :

Le titre flamand indique vers le loriot et l'alouette, oiseaux que Lodewijk Mortelmans a innombrablement entendu chanter durant ses nombreuses promenades, aussi bien dans les alentours de la Kalmthoutse Heide et de Huibergen, et autrement dans la Waasland et les environs de Waasmunster.

Ce sont la conduite et le chant de ses oiseaux, qui l'ont inspiré et mené à composer ce chef d'oeuvre pour piano.

Le titre anglais "Like a singing bird" ou le titre français "Les oiseaux qui chantent" se réfère au chant de "un oiseau", sans préciser de quel oiseau il s'agit.

Néanmoins, pour bien comprendre cet oeuvre et de pouvoir la juger à sa juste valeur, il est d'une importance essentielle de savoir envers quels oiseaux Lodewijk Mortelmans se réfère.

* D'abord le Loriot (Oriolus oriolus)
Oriolus oriolusest un oiseau fascinant. Son plumage est l'un des plus beaux des oiseaux qui couvent en Flandre: ailes noires, queue noire avec points jaunes, le corps jaune clair et un bec rouge. N'empêche c'est un oiseau difficile à appréhender vu les endroits où il se retient, comme le feuillage fort des cimes d'arbres dans le parc, jardins, drèves et bords de forêts. Puis il y a son chant. Ce n'est pas une longue phrase comme celui de l'alouette, du rouge-gorge, ou de l'oiseau moqueur. C'est plutôt court, fort, sifflement sonore qui sonne comme "wiela - wieo" avec quelques variations. Le son de sa voix est comparable à celui d'un hautbois.
 
 

* Puis l'Alouette. Ici il s'agit au fait de deux oiseaux différents: l'alouette des champs et l'alouette lulu. Leur plumages est brunâtre, peu remarquable.

* L'Alouette des champs (Alauda arvensis)
Alauda arvensisvole lentement à pic vers le haut jusqu'à ce qu'on aperçoit à peine encore un petit point, y reste longtemps et redescend en vogue de retour sur le sol. Entre temps il chante sans arrêt un chant clair, jubilâtre et vibrant qui sonne quelque peu comme un continu "tirlie" répété.
 
 
 

* L'Alouette lulu (Lullula arborea)
Lullula arboreavogue en vol nuptial dans de grandes spirales vers le haut, y reste aussi longtemps, en redescend avec les ailes fermés. Son chant est moins longtemps retenu que celui de l'alouette des champs mais plus mélodieu et mélangé, avec un lu-lu-lu-lu ruisselant et vibrant (nom latin "Lullula").
 
 

lfm logo